Bengeo, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes Guide to Bengeo, Hertfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bengeo, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hertford
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hertford PLU
Registration District Hertford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hertford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bengo (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union,hundred, and county of Hertford, it is 1 mile (N.N.E.) from Hertford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bengeo St Leonard parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
BENGEO PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1856-1912
1843-1906

BOYD
1539-1837

FMP 1563-1910 1563-1910 1774-1928 1774-1928 1547-1979 1547-1979
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1539-1876 1539-1837
JOIN
1539-1837

NBI

1800-1851
PRTS
1539-1553, 1563-1837

Bengeo Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bengeo Christ Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1869-1893
1871-1894

HERTS To 1837
IGI 1869-1894

Bengeo St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bengeo St Michael and All Angels Church Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1872-1907
1873-1906

Port Vale Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Port Vale Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1837-1894


HERTS To 1837
IGI 1843-1922

Tonwell Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Tonwell Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1852-1906


Waterford registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Waterford Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1834-1927 1834-1927


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288831.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bengeo on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1831. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 March 2014.
  5. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  7. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013. Described as 'Bengeo St Leonard.'
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 May 2014, at 15:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,101 times.