Benton County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.pngArkansasGotoarrow.png Benton County


Guide to Benton County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
War Eagle Mill in Benton County, Arkansas

Benton County, founded September 30, 1836, was formed from Washington County, and is located in the northwest corner of Arkansas on the Ozark plateau. It adjoins Oklahoma to the west and Missouri to the north. The county seat is Bentonville, named in honor of U.S Senator Thomas Hart Benton of Missouri, who was instrumental in helping the Arkansas Territory achieve statehood.



Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Benton County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Benton County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 30, 1836
County Seat Bentonville
Courthouse
Address Benton County Courthouse
215 E. Central, Suite 217
Bentonville, AR 72712-0699
Telephone: 479.271.1013- 1031

Contents

County Courthouse

Benton County Courthouse
215 E. Central, Suite 217
Bentonville, AR 72712-0699
Telephone: 479.271.1013- 1031


County Clerk has marriage records from 1861
and probate records from 1859; Clerk Circuit 
Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Benton County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1861 1914* 1837 1837 1866
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1836--Benton County was created 30 September 1836 from Washington County. County seat: Bentonville. [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bella Vista
Bentonville
Centerton
Cherokee City
Cross Roads
Decatur
Garfield
Gentry
Gravette
Rogers
Siloam Springs
Sulphur Springs

Neighboring Counties

Adair County, Oklahoma  · Barry County, Missouri  · Delaware County, Oklahoma  · Madison  · McDonald County, Missouri  · Washington

Benton CountyCarroll CountyWashington CountyMadison CountyTaney CountyStone CountyBarry CountyMcDonald CountyNewton CountyOttawia CountyDelaware CountyAdair CountySequoyah CountyCherokee CountyChristian CountyDouglas CountyOzark CountyLawrence CountyMayes CountyCraig CountyHaskell CountyMuskogee CountyNewton CountyJohnson CountyFranklin CountyCrawford CountyARBenton2.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Online Benton County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Individual Cemeteries

BillionGraves transcriptions, photos, and Google map for each cemetery.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Benton County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Biographies from the History of Benton County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Late 1700's to early 1800's - The Osage Indians in Missouri made forays into the area for seasonal hunting.
  • 1808 - 1825 - The U.S. government obtained major land cessions from the Osage.
  • 1828 - The Arkansas Cherokee also ceded their land. This marked the last major Indian occupation of the area and opened it to legal white settlement.
  • Late 1820's - White settlers increasingly moved into the area.
  • 1836 - September 30 - Benton County was formally established as a separate county.
  • Many early county settlers came from Tennessee and other states of the upper South.
  • During the Civil War, many Benton County residents were caught between strongly Confederate Arkansans to the south and Union-supporting Missourians to the north.
  • During the Civil War years, much of Benton County suffered destruction and severe food shortages.
  • 1870's - The county’s population grew, but the number of black citizens decreased rapidly

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Benton County on page 191.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include"an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Civil War
Monument, built 1908, Bentonville, Benton, County, Arkansas

Regiments. Service men in Benton County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Benton County, Arkansas:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company D
- 34th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F

Men from Benton County served in the 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)[4] and the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Companies E and M





Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Benton County.

  • March 6-8, 1862 = Pea Ridge, also known as Elkhorn Tavern.[6]
  • Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Benton County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art in Bentonville, Benton County, Arkansas

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1843-1915 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1858-1888; Chancery Court records 1843-1882; Dockets 1869-1897; Gurdian bonds 1858-1887; Minutes 1857-1874; Probate records 1884-1908.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes
Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Benton County, Arkansas Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

The unique crystal bridge’s Museum of Art, Benton Arkansas by Dave Mark



Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Benton County, Arkansas
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Benton County, Arkansas
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
SateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Benton County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library They are heavily involved in digitizing. located in Indiana
AR History Commission the State Archives; search by county
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Benton County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Benton County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Benton County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Arkansas. Adjutant General's Office. Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866 (Bethesda, Maryland : University Publications of America, c1990).
  5. Allen, Desmond Walls. Third Arkansas Union Cavalry (Desmond Walls Allen, Conway, Arkansas) 1987, pp. 33-92.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 17:21.
  • This page has been accessed 19,300 times.