Benton County, MinnesotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Minnesota
Benton County
Guide to Benton County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Benton County, Minnesota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Minnesota | |
![]() Location of Minnesota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 27, 1849 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Foley |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Benton County Courthouse 531 Dewey Street P.O. Box 129 Foley, MN 56329 320-968-5037 Benton County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Recorder has birth records from 1870,
marriage records from 1887, death records from 1871
and land records from 1850.
Court Administrator has divorce and court records
from 1900 and probate records from 1850. [1]
History
Parent County
- 1849--Benton County was created 27 October 1849 from St. Croix County, Eliminated 27 Oct 1849. County seat: Foley [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Foley | Gilman | Rice | Ronneby | Royalton | Sartell | Sauk Rapids | St. Cloud
Townships
Alberta Township | Gilmanton Township | Glendorado Township | Graham Township | Granite Ledge Township | Langola Township | Mayhew Lake Township | Maywood Township | Minden Township | Sauk Rapids Township St. George Township | Watab Township
Unincorporated Communities
Brennyville | Bushville | Duelm | Fruitville | Glendorado | Granite Ledge | Jakeville | Mayhew | Minden | North Benton | Novak's Corner | Oak Park | Parent | Popple Creek | Rum River | Silver Corners | Watab
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.
Court
Land
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Benton – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Benton County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Benton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Benton County.
- - 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Benton County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Benton County, Minnesota Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.
Taxation
Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Benton County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- Family History Library Catalog
- Benton County GenWeb
- Cyndi's List: Benton County
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Minnesota page 362, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 June 2013, at 20:02.
- This page has been accessed 1,471 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

