Benton County, OregonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Oregon
Benton County
Guide to Benton County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Benton County, Oregon | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Oregon | |
![]() Location of Oregon in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 23, 1847 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Corvallis |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Benton County Courthouse 180 NW 5th Street Corvallis, OR 97330-4777 Phone: 541.757.6800 Benton County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1907
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1850
and military discharge records from 1919. [1]
Records held at County Courthouse
- County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Benton County Court House as of July 2006.
- Record Loss:
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Oregon, Benton County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Quick Facts
Named after Thomas Hart Benton, U.S. Senator from Missouri, who advocated U.S. control over Oregon Country.
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Parent County
23 December 1847: from Polk County. [2]
Boundary Changes
20 February 1893: Lincoln County. 28 January 1851: Umpqua County.
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Cities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.
Adair Village | Albany | Corvallis | Monroe | Philomath
Communities
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.
Alder | Alpine | Alsea | Bellfountain | Blodgett | Dawson | Flynn | Glenbrook | Greenberry | Hoskins | Kings Valley | Lewisburg | Noon | Summit | Wren
Neighboring Counties
Trivia Tidbits
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
- 1850
- 1853 Territorial Transcription and Index
- 1854 Territorial Transcription and Index
- 1860
- 1870
- 1880
- 1890
- 1900
- 1910
- 1920
- 1930
Church History and Records
Court
Gazetteers
History
Land and Property
Maps
Military History and Records
Newspapers
Probate Records
Rivers and Waterways
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Websites
- The Benton County GenWeb Project, an member of The ORGenWeb Project
- Linkpendium
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Benton County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Benton County
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Benton County
- Oregon, Benton County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Benton County Oregon Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benton County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 50140092Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 18:56.
- This page has been accessed 1,663 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


