Benwell St James, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Benwell St James, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Benwell St James, Northumberland
St James Benwell Newcastle Northumberland.jpg
St James Benwell Newcastle Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Newcastle upon Tyne PLU
Registration District Newcastle upon Tyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BENWELL, a district chapelry comprising the township of Benwell and part of that of Elswick, in the parish of St. John, Newcastle, union of Newcastle, W. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland 2½ miles (W.) from Newcastle. The chapel, dedicated to St. James, stands conspicuously on an eminence near the centre of the district, and was erected in 1832. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Benwell St James Northumberland, created in 1843 from chapelry in Newcastle upon Tyne St Nicolas, Northumberland Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Church of England parish registers begin in 1843. Church of England Bishops' transcripts exist from 1838.Parish Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/24 1838-1875 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however images for this parish have not yet been loaded and await future engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Benwell, St James: Records of baptisms 1832-1981, marriages 1844-1989 and burials 1833-1966 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1832-1958, marriages 1844-1958 and burials 1833-1966 can also be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  For earlier records see Newcastle, St John

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438887.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle Upon Tyne Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 31 July 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,470 times.