Bepton, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Bepton,Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bepton, Sussex
Bepton St Mary Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easebourne
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Midhurst PLU
Registration District Midhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1723
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEPTON, or BEBTON, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Easebourne, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 2¾ miles (S. W.) from Midhurst.[1]. Bepton St Mary is an Ancient parish in West Sussex about 3 miles from Midhurst. A history of the church may be found. See[2]

The Parish Church of St Mary Bepton has been designated a grade I listed building.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bepton

A patron may access the parish registers online for this parish.[4]

Church records

Bepton, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[7]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[8]
Bepton, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1630-1723

IGI 1584-1876 1589-1825
PRTS 1592-1903
1593-1901
1593-1956
SOPC Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.

Poor Law Unions

Midhurst Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 210-214. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, A Vision of Britain through Time, (1870-72). Date accessed: 17 January 2014.
  3. British Government.,British listed building (1959), Date accessed: 17 January 2014
  4. Collins, Mark, et al., Online Parish Clerks(2004 - 2013). Date accessed: 17 January 2014.
  5. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  8. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 20:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,558 times.