Bere Ferrers with Bere Alston, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Bere Ferrers with Bere Alston, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bere Ferrers with Bere Alston, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Roborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tavistock PLU
Registration District Tavistock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamerton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEER-FERRIS (St. Andrew), or Bere Ferrers, a parish, in the union of Tavistock, hundred of Roborough, Tavistock and S. divisions of Devon, 7½ miles (S. by W.) from Tavistock; comprising the ancient borough of Beer Alston.[1]

BEER-ALSTON, formerly a borough and market town, in the parish of Beer-Ferris, union of Tavistock, hundred of Roborough, Tavistock and S. divisions of Devon, 14 miles (N.) from Plymouth. The Independents and Wesleyans have places of worship here.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1605-1607) are online at Internet Archive - free.[3]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241319.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

1737 Estate Map

Annotated photograph of 1737 estate map  of area around Whitsam showing fields and who farmed them. Fig 6.16, p. 151 inMining in a Medieval Landscape: The Royal Silver Mines of the Tamar Valley. By Steven Rippon, Peter Clughton and Chris Smart. Exeter: University of Exeter Press. 2009. The original is identified as a Plan of the Manor of Bere Ferrers surveyed for Lord Hobart, 1737 in the Mount Edgecumbe Papers, Cornwall Record Office - ME2424.

19th Century Map

Map showing and naming all groups of cottages and farmsteads in the parish, created from 6" to 1 mile edition of map. Text suggests that most of the places have been in existance since the medieval period  - Fig. 6.13, page 146 of Mining in a Medieval Landscape: The Royal Silver Mines of the Tamar Valley. By Steven Rippon, Peter Clughton and Chris Smart. Exeter: University of Exeter Press. 2009.

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-199. Adapted. Date accessed: 30 April 2012.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 194-199. Date accessed: 30 April 2012.
  3. Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.

Bibliography

Rippon, Steven, Peter Clughton and Chris Smart. Mining in a Medieval Landscape: The Royal Silver Mines of the Tamar Valley. Exeter: University of Exeter Press. 2009. pbk ISBN 978 0 85989 828 7. The parish was at one time the center of England silver mining, The mines opened in 1292 under direct Crown control until 1349 whereupon they were leased out until they closed in the 16th century. The book puts the mines into local and national historical context. Contains a discussion of experienced hard rock miners being brought in from the Peak District (Derbyshire) and Northeast Wales to work the mine. There are numerous maps, aerial and land photographs of the parish. Extensive bibliography of manuscripts and published resources.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,520 times.