Berkeley, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Berkeley, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Berkeley, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Berkeley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Thornbury PLU
Registration District Thornbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562; Separate registers exist for Stone beginning 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571; Separate records exist for Stone beginning 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dursley
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BERKELEY (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Thornbury, Upper division of the hundred of Berkeley, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 17 miles (S. W.) from Gloucester, 19(N. E.) from Bristol, and 114 (W. by N.) from London;comprising the tythings of Alkington, Breadstone, Ham, Hamfallow, and Hinton, and the chapelry of Stone. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Berkeley, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD= Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[2][3]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
GOOG = Google Books - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
BERKELEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1571-1837 (gaps)
FHSO 1800-1837
GOOG 1653-1677 1653-1662 1653-1677

Stone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

STONE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1594-1812

FREG 1594-1812
JOIN

1594-1812


PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288761.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 210-214. Date accessed: 30 April 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  5. Frederick Arthur Crisp, The Parish Register of Berkeley, Gloucestershire, 1653-1677 (1897). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:36.
  • This page has been accessed 2,764 times.