Berks County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Berks County
Berks County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Berks County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | March 11, 1752 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Reading | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Berks County Courthouse 633 Court Street Reading, PA 19601 Berks County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Berks County, Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Chester, Lancaster, and Philadelphia Counties 14 October 1751.[1]
- County Seat: Reading
- Neighboring Counties: Berks County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Schuylkill (north) • Lehigh (northeast) • Lebanon (west) • Chester (south) • Lancaster (southwest) and • Montgomery (southeast)
Boundary Changes
- 14 October 1728: Future southwestern half of Berks County became part of Lancaster County when it was created; the other half remained in Philadelphia County.
- 1 March 1811: Schuylkill County was created, giving Berks its final boundaries. [1]
Berks County, Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
There are numerous cemeteries throughout Berks County. It is important that you learn what church your ancestors attended as they may be buried in the cemetery attached to the the church they attended. Within the Reading city limits there are two large cemeteries:- Charles Evans Cemetery
1119 Centre Avenue - Aulenbach Cemetery
Perkiomen Avenue
Currently there are no complete burial listings for these two cemeteries on the Internet. However, Berks.-pa.roots has a very good listing of names for Aulenbach Cemetery. The same web site does have a listing for Charles Evans Cemetery but lacks many names. Find a Grave can also be used to search these cemeteries, again these are not complete name lists.
Over time, some older cemeteries have been discontinued and the bodies moved to other cemeteries. Usually the records of the final resting place for the deceased will indicate if the remains have been reinterred. There is one known instance where the tombstones were removed and the bodies were left in place.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
|
PAGenWeb Click on 'Cemetery Index' on the left. |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
The Mennonite Heritage Center
565 Yoder Road
Harleysville PA 19438-1020
215-256-3020
library@mhep.org
Hours: Tuesday thru Friday, 10am–5pm, Saturday, 10am–2pm
The Cemetery Database at the Mennonite Heritage Center includes 86,000 burial records from 125 local cemeteries. Records cover cemeteries in the counties of Berks, Bucks, Butler, Chester, Lehigh, Montgomery, Northampton, and Westmoreland. The database provides transcriptions from Mennonite, Brethren, Lutheran, Reformed, Union, Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal, community, and private cemeteries. Search the list of cemeteries and the alphabetical surname lists in Adobe PDF format.
Visit the Mennonite Heritage Center to search the cemetery database by various criteria. The transcriptions are available for further research at the MHC library.
Census
For tips on accessing Berks County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available. The below listed census records were taken by Schuyler C. Brossman, a local historian, and are not official government records.
- 1964, State Census Transcription - only Rehrersburg FHL film 416776 Item 2
- 1965, State Census Transcription - only Rehrersburg FHL film 482040
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.
Many denominations dot the landscape of Berks County. Visiting the church your ancestor attended is recommended; however, many times, due to distance, that is not possible. The Historical Society of Berks County has an on-line index of more then 1.2 millions names, gleaned from the records of more than 300 local churches. It is not a complete index but still worth your time if you are looking for baptism, marriage, and burial records. The index is searchable in numerous ways, but searching by last name or church name is probably most popular. The index lists the name of the record, volume and page number where the individual record can be found. The volume and page number refer to books located at the historical society. To view the actual record, use the printable on-line form that can be mailed to obtain a copy of the record or visit the society. There is a fee for acquiring the record by mail. Check the website for current fees.
The Berks County Genealogical Society has various records for churches throughout the Berks County area. However, the society has not put the records on-line and to view the records one must go to the society.Church records of Berks County are located under the Research tab.
Additional church records can be located at Linkpendium and by searching the Family History Library Catalog. The FHLC has a plethora of church records for Berks County, many are limited in the time frame they cover. When searching the FHL catalog, be sure to also search at the town and township level.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Berks County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Databases - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com, $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties
- Contains church records of:
- Albany: Jerusalem Allemaengel; Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Alleghenyville: Allegheny United Church of Christ
- Alsace: Evangelical Lutheran Church; Zion Spies Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Amity: St. Paul's United Church of Christ
- Bally: Beford Mennonite Cemetery Gravestone Inscriptions
- Bernville: St. Thomas United Church of Christ
- Birdsboro: St. Mark's Evangelical Lutheran Church; St. Michael's Protestant Episcopal Parish
- Boyertown: Boyertown Methodist Episcopal Church; Reford and Boyertown Mennonite Records
- Douglassville: St. Gabriel's Episcopal Church
- Geigertown: St. James Lutheran Church
- Gibraltar: St. John's United Church of Christ
- Gouglersville: Wyomissing United Church of Christ
- Hamburg: Trinity Lutheran Church
- Jacksonwald: Schwarzwald United Church of Christ
- Kempton: Jerusalem Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Maidencreek: United Church of Christ - St. Peter's Parish
- Maxatawny: Trinity Lutheran Church; Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Mohnton: Robeson Evangelical Lutheran Church; Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
- Oley: Friedens United Church of Christ
- Pike: St. Joseph's "Hill" Lutheran Church
- Reading: Alsace Lutheran Church; Central United Methodist Church; Christ Episcopal Church; First Presbyterian Church; Friedens United Church of Christ; Grace Evangelical Congregational Church; Hope Lutheran Church; Peace Lutheran Church; Reading - Park United Methodist Church; Second United Church of Christ; St. Barnabas Episcopal Church; St. John's Lutheran Church; St. John's United Church of Christ; St. Luke's Episcopal Church; St. Luke's Lutheran Church; St. Mark's Lutheran Church; St. Mark's United Church of Christ; St. Paul's Evangelical Congregational Church; St. Paul's Lutheran Church; St. Paul's Memorial United Church of Christ; St. Stephen's United Church of Christ; St. Thomas United Church of Christ; Trinity Lutheran Church; Trinity United Church of Christ; Zion United Church of Christ
- Rehrersburg: Trinity United Church of Christ
- Richmond: United Church of Christ - St. Peter's Parish
- Robesonia: St. Paul's United Church of Christ
- Shoemakersville: St. Luke's United Church of Christ
- Contains church records of:
- 1729-1881 – Pennsylvania Church Records - Adams, Berks, and Lancaster Counties, 1729-1881 at Ancestry.com – $; details on 180,000 church-goers from 50 churches; incomplete.
- Berks County church records at USGenWeb. This site contains a list of churches in Berks and Schuykill counties and baptisms, marriages, and burials from Lutheran, Reformed, and other denominations.
- Berks County church records at USGenWeb. This site contains a list of churches in Berks and Schuykill counties and baptisms, marriages, and burials from Lutheran, Reformed, and other denominations.
- 1710-1800 - Humphrey, John T. Pennsylvania Births, Berks County 1710-1800. 2 vols. Washington, D.C.: Humphrey Publications, 1997-1998. FHL Book 974.816 K2h.
- Contains baptisms from the records of the Exeter Monthly Meeting in Exeter Township, St. Gabriel's Episcopal Church in Amity Township, Reed's/Rieth's Church in Marion Township, Host Reformed Church in Tulpehocken Township, Hain's Reformed Church in Lower Heidelberg Township, Oley Reformed Church in Oley Township, Moravian Church in Oley Township, Bern Reformed Church in Bern Township, Allemangel Lutheran Church in Albany Township, Moselem Lutheran Church in Ontelaunee Township, Catholic Mission at Goshenhoppen, Heidelberg Moravian Church in Heidelberg Township, Tulpehocken Lutheran Church in Jefferson Township, Christ Lutheran Church at Stouchsburg, Dunkel's Reformed in Greenwich Township, Blue Mountain Church in Upper Tulpehocken Township, Longswamp Reformed Church in Longswamp Township, Altalaha Lutheran Church in Tulpehocken Towhship, Rockland Lutheran Church in Rockland Township, St. Daniel's Lutheran Church in Heidelberg Township, Trinity Lutheran Church in Reading, First Reformed Church in Reading, St. Paul's Reformed and Lutheran Church in Amity Township, St. Joseph's Lutheran and Reformed Church, in Pike Township, records of Daniel Schumacher, Zion Lutheran and Reformed Church in Perry Township, Delong's Reformed Church in Maxatawny Township, Robeson Lutheran Church in Robeson Township, Zion Lutheran Church in Greenwich Township, Rosenthal or New Bethel Church in Albany Township, Christ Episcopal Church in Reading, St. Peter's Church in Richmond Township, St. Michael's Church in Tilden Township, St. Paul's Church in Windsor Township, Allegheny Church in Brecknock Township, New Allemangel Lutheran Church in Albany Township, Friedens Lutheran Church in Bernville, Spies Lutheran Church in Alsace Township, Robeson Monthy Meeting in Robeson Township, Schwartzwald Reformed Church in Exeter Township, records of Rev. William Boos for Spies Reformed Church, records of birth found in the Wittman pension file, Zion Lutheran and Reformed Church at Womelsdorf.
Amish
A branch of the Mennonites, early settlement in the Berks area consisted of congregations in Cumru, Maidencreek and Bern Townships. Bern Township was home to the Northkill Amish. The Northkill settlement was the largest Amish settlement up to the 1780s.[3]
Records for the Amish are not readily available. However, if one does have an Amish background, a good place to start is the Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society. Records are not available on-line and can only be viewed at the historical society.
Baptists
Baptists settled in Berks County about 1738 along the Tulpehocken creek by individuals from the counties of Chester and Philadelphia. Two congregations were formed but by 1774 both had disappeared from the Tulpehocken region.[3]
Brethren
Also known as "Dunkards" or "German Baptists," the Brethren were in the Berks County area as early as 1724. However, the first Brethren congregation was settled in 1723 in Germantown, Pennsylvania. Early Berks County congregations were located near Pricetown, Millersburg and Oley with additional groups in the townships of Tulpehocken, Upper Tulpehocken and Bern.[3]
Brethren Historical Library and Archives
1451 Dundee Ave.
Elgin, IL 60120
Episcopalian
Bangor Church, Caernarvon
Registers are lost, but some parishioners appear in the registers of St. James's Church, Lancaster. An old trunk was discovered at Bangor Church with "sundry account-books and ancient title-deeds."[4]
Christ Church, Reading
- 1763-1850 - Christ Church, Reading, Baptism Index 1763-1850 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504871.[5]
- 1767-1777, 1825-1850 - Christ Church, Reading, Marriage Index 1767-1777 and 1825-1850 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504871.[5]
St. Gabriel's Church, Douglassville
Registers begin in 1735.[4]
- 1735-1815 - St. Gabriel's Protestant Episcopal Church, Morlotton, Baptism Index 1735-1815 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507221.[5]
St. Thomas's Church, Caernarvon
Registers are lost, but some parishioners appear in the registers of St. James's Church, Lancaster.[4]
Lutheran
The Lutheran denomination existed in the Berks County area as early as 1727 when Lutherans from Schoharie, New York settled in the Tulpehocken area of the county. The German religions were the most abundant denominations in the Berks County area. The Lutheran and Reformed were united in the building of their church edifices. These structures were called "Union" churches as the Lutheran and Reformed congregations took responsibilty for the maintenance of the building. The two denominations alternated their church services every two Sundays.[3]
Because it is not unusual to find family religious ordinances in both Lutheran and Reformed records, it is wise to search both denominational records when researching.
Lutheran Historical Society of the Mid-Atlantic
61 Seminary Ridge
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Altalaha Evangelical Lutheran Church, Rehrersburg
- 1757-1842 - Altalaha Evangelical Lutheran Church, Rehrersburg, Baptism Index 1757-1842 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C511431.[5]
Belleman's Lutheran Church, Centre Township
- 1798-1806, 1831-1871 - Belleman's Lutheran Church, Centre Township, Baptism Index 1798-1806 and 1831-1871 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C725721.[5]
Evangelical Lutheran Church, Sinking Spring
- 1853 - Evangelical Lutheran Church, Sinking Spring, Baptism Index 1853 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C725851.[5]
- 1853 - Evangelical Lutheran Church, Sinking Spring, Marriage Index 1853 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M725851.[5]
Friedens Lutheran and Reformed Church, Albany Township
- 1771-1855 - Friedens Lutheran and Reformed Church, Albany Township, 1771-1855 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Huff's Church, Hereford Township
- 1813-1875 - Huff's Church, Hereford Township, Baptism Index 1813-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Little Tulpehocken or Christ's Church Evangelical Lutheran, Jefferson Township
- 1726-1846 - Little Tulpehocken or Christ's Church Evangelical Lutheran, Jefferson Township, Baptism Index 1726-1846 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507541.[5]
- 1735-1750 - Little Tulpehocken or Christ's Church Evangelical Lutheran, Jefferson Township, Marriage Index 1735-1750 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M507541.[5]
Maidencreek Lutheran Church, Brandon
- 1861-1885 - Maidencreek Lutheran Church, Brandon, Marriage Index 1861-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516341.[5]
Mertz Lutheran Church, Rockland Township
- 1738-1903 - Mertz Lutheran Church, Rockland Township, Baptism Index 1738-1903 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C507261 and C507262.[5]
- 1749-1767 - Mertz Lutheran Church, Rockland Township, Marriage Index 1749-1767 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M507261.[5]
New Bethel or Stone Lutheran Church, Grimville
- 1761-1802 - New Bethel or Stone Lutheran Church, Grimville, Baptism Index 1761-1802 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Oley Hill or St. Joseph's Church, Pike Township
- 1731-1734, 1754-1881 - Oley Hill or St. Joseph's Church, Pike Township, Marriage Index 1731-1734 and 1754-1881 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516541.[5]
St. Paul Lutheran and Reformed Church, Amityville
- 1759-1802 - St. Paul Lutheran and Reformed Church, Amityville, Baptism Index 1759-1802 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1790-1795 - St. Paul Lutheran and Reformed Church, Amityville, Marriage Index 1790-1795 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Strausstown
- 1862-1873 - St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Strausstown, Baptism Index 1862-1873 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516331.[5]
Salem Lutheran Church, Bethel
- 1861-1885 - Salem Lutheran Church, Bethel, Marriage Index 1861-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516321.[5]
Trinity Lutheran Church, Reading
- 1751-1767, 1825-1885 - Trinity Lutheran Church, Reading, Baptism Index 1751-1767 and 1825-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batches C507231 and C507232.[5]
- 1838-1885 - Trinity Lutheran Church, Reading, Marriage Index 1838-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M507232.[5]
Zion's Moselem Lutheran Church, Richmond Township
- 1737-1771 - Zion's Moselem Lutheran Church, Richmond Township, Baptism Index 1737-1771 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506731.[5]
Mennonite
Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society
2215 Millstream Rd
Lancaster, PA 17602-1499
Phone: (717) 393-9745
Presbyterian
While never a denomination of prominence in Berks County, their beginnings were early in the county. Organized in 1812 the First Presbyterian Church is currently located at 37 South Fifth Street in Reading, PA. There are currently five Presbyterian churches in the city of Reading and the surrounding area. Currently the Historical of Berks County has only records for First Presbyterian. Additional records may be located at the individual churches.
Presbyterian Historical Society
425 Lombard Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
Phone: (215) 627-1852
Quakers
Also known as the "Friends," their earliest settlement in the Berks County area was in 1725 in what was Amity Township. Later meetinghouses were erected in the townships of Maiden Creek and Robeson and eventually in the town of Reading. The Quakers had considerably political control of the county as long as the Penn proprietors controlled the colony of Pennsylvania.[3]
Early Quaker monthly meetings (with years established):
- Exeter Monthly Meeting, near Stonersville, Pa. (1737). First known as Oley Monthly Meeting. Hinshaw published the early records: FHL Book 974.8 K2w v. 2.[6]
Friends Historical Association
Haverford College
370 Lancaster Avenue
Haverford, PA, 19041-1392
Phone: (610) 896-1161
Reformed
Also known as "German Calvinists" or "Dutch Reformed" reformed congregations had their beginnings in Berks County in the townships of Oley, Greenwich and Heidelberg. The Reformed congregations were heavily associated with the Lutheran congregations. For a list of ministers see the attached reference.[3]
- History and directory of St. Paul's Memorial Reformed Church, North Sixth Street, Reading, Pa. at Ancestry.com – $, contains members name in a directory
- Berks County, Pennsylvania, 1745-1805: Cacusi or Hain's Reformed Church at Ancestry ($).
- Berks County, Pennsylvania, 1762-1810: Longswamp Reformed Church Records at Ancestry ($).
Christ Manatawny or Delong Reformed Church, Bowers
- 1765-1859 - Christ Manatawny or Delong Reformed Church, Bowers, Baptism Index 1765-1859 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C536661.[5]
Friedens New Alemangel White Church Lutheran Church, Wesnersville
- 1772-1855 - Friedens New Alemangel White Church Lutheran Church, Wesnersville, Baptism Index 1772-1777, 1788-1840, and 1855 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C506741.[5]
Host Reformed Church, Tulpehocken Township
- 1740-1875 - Host Reformed Church, Tulpehocken Township, Baptism Index 1740-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C504581.[5]
- 1752-1760 - Host Reformed Church, Tulpehocken Township, Marriage Index 1740-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M504581.[5]
Reformed Church, Oley
- 1763-1783 - Reformed Church, Oley, Baptism Index 1763-1783 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C507251.[5]
- 1784-1860 - Reformed Church, Oley, Baptism Index 1784-1860 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C391927.[5]
St. John's Reformed Church, Kutztown
- 1840-1951 - St. John's Reformed Church, Kutztown, Baptism Index 1840-1951 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C516451.[5]
- 1841-1951 - St. John's Reformed Church, Kutztown, Baptism Index 1841-1951 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516451.[5]
St. John's or St. John's (Hains) Reformed Church, Lower Heidelberg Township
- 1745-1875 - St. John's or St. John's (Hains) Reformed Church, Lower Heidelberg Township, Baptism Index 1745-1875 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M511491.[5]
- 1872-1883 - St. John's or St. John's (Hains) Reformed Church, Lower Heidelberg Township, Marriage Index 1872-1883 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C511491.[5]
St. Michael's Reformed Church, Upper Bern Township
- 1771-1825 - St. Michael's Reformed Church, Upper Bern Township, Baptism Index 1771-1825 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516631.[5]
St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Windsor Township
- 1766-1804 - St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Windsor Township, Baptism Index 1766-1804 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516651.[5]
Salem German Reformed Church, Bethel
- 1884-1885 - Salem German Reformed Church, Bethel, Marriage Index 1884-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch M516311.[5]
Roman Catholic
The Catholic Church, while currently prominent, had very humble beginnings in the county. Part the of Diocese of Allentown, the Catholic population in Berks County began to appear about 1740 and by 1757 had two congregations which amounted to approximately 250 people.[3] It must be remembered that the Catholic Church persecuted the protestant denominations throughout European history. Hence, the protestants of Berks County were leary of the arrival of the Catholic Church arriving in the area.
Currently, the Family History Library has few Catholic records. It is best to contact the church or the diocese where the ancestor lived.
Most Blessed Sacrament Roman Catholic Church, Bally
- 1819-1872 - Most Blessed Sacrament Roman Catholic Church, Bally, Marriage Index 1819-1872 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
St. Paul's Roman Catholic Church, Goshenhoppen
- 1741-1865 - St. Paul's Roman Catholic Church, Goshenhoppen, Baptism Index 1741-1865 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1741-1872 - St. Paul's Roman Catholic Church, Goshenhoppen, Marriage Index 1741-1865 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
Court Records
Berks County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Berks County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Berks County, Pennsylvania has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[7]
Clerk of the Court
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[8] For the Berks County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. The prothonotary does have a website with limited indexes for searching. There are no on-line divorce indexes. Some of their records are stored off site and staff makes one trip a month to retrieve off-site files. It is a good idea to contact the prothonotary before visiting so that, if need be, staff can retrieve the off-site record before your visit. Their website does have e-mail contact available. The staff is very helpful.
Orphan's Court (see Vital Records)
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[9]
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Berks County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Berks County is a potpourri of humanity. Early immigrants to the county were from the Netherlands, Germany and the British Isles. Later immigrants were of eastern European and Hispanic extraction. The major ports of arrival for these groups were Philadelphia and New York.
Prior to 1906 many individuals naturalized at the county level and these records are kept by the prothonotary at the county courthouse. Many of the records will not list town or city of origin or birth but it is still wise to check.
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
The Historical Society of Berks County presents a monthly program concerning the history of the county and happenings of the society. The program can be viewed at their website for free anytime.
Published Histories
Historical and biographical annals of Berks County, Pennsylvania, embracing a concise history of the county and a genealogical and biographical record of representative families, comp. by Morton L. Montgomery. (1909)
Land and Property
Land records in Berks County began in 1752. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Reading, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- Deeds are indexed and available online for free viewing at the Recorder of Deeds. Copies of deeds can be made from the website or in person for a small fee.
- Ancestor Tracks publishes county atlases of the Pennsylvania Township Warrantee Maps on file at the Pennsylvania Archives in Harrisburg and offers links to other early landowner map sources.
- PAGenWeb has several land abstracts for Berks County.
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1734 -1926 Deeds, 1734-1866; Indexes, 1752-1926 FHL film 20739 (first of 76 films) The earlier land records for what would become Berks County are for the most part in Philadelphia County.
- 1752 -1926 Mortgage Records 1752-1822; Mortgager Index 1752-1926 FHL films 929921-929935
- 1752-1936 Miscellaneous Records, 1752-1869; Grantor and Grantee indexes, 1752-1936 FHL films 929936-929962
Maps
- MacInnes, Sharon Cook. Early Landowners of Pennsylvania: Atlas of Township Warrantee Maps of Berks County. Apollo, Pennsylvania : Closson Press, 2006. FHL book 974.816 E7ms
- Henry, Mathew Schropp and M.K. Boyer. Township Map of Berks County, Pennsylvania. 1985 edition published by Berks County Genealogical Society. Original edition published 1854. FHL book 974.816 E7hb Berks County Genealogical Society added an index of land owners.
Additional Resources
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Berks County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free, downloadable images from Map of Berks County from Actual Surveys published by H.S. Bridgens in 1860 which can be used in conjunction with the 1860 census and published county histories to help pinpoint your ancestors.
- Atlas of Township Warrantee Maps of Berks County and a companion Scans of Township Warrantee Maps plus Current Road Overlays CD ($) are also available from Ancestor Tracks. They show precise outlines in metes and bounds of each original tract and all surrounding tracts in the township, giving the names of the warrantee and patentee; dates of the warrant, survey, and patent; and the patent and survey books and page of the recorded patent. Please be aware that only approx. 75% of the county is covered. fckLR*On-line township maps of Berks County for 1862 are available at Andy's Antique Atlases. fckLR*Township maps of Berks County Pennsylvania from the Historical Atlas of Berks County, Pennsylvania 1876 is available in the FHL Collection. To locate a copy nearest you use WorldCat.
Migration
Military
Revolutionary War
Local men served in the Berks County Militia. A guide at the Pennsylvania State Archives website identifies townships where specific companies recruited soldiers, see Revolutionary War Militia Battalions and Companies, Arranged by County. Many Germans from Berks County served in the 1st Pennsylvania Regiment.Wikipedia contributors, "1st Pennsylvania Regiment," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia,</ref>[10] Berks County men also served in the 2nd Pennsylvania Regiment,[10] apparently in the 3rd Pennsylvania Regiment,[10] and the 6th Pennsylvania Regiment.[11]
War of 1812
Berks County Genealogical Society, Berks County & the War of 1812 (Reading, Pennsylvania 1989) pages 66-84
World War I
The Reading Militia in the Great War is a wonderful history of those men who served in the First World War. Rosters are included.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Berks County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Records
- 1795-1952 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1248, browsesable images of card index
- 1795-1931 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Petitions for Naturalization, 1795-1931 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1522, browsesable images of petitions, no index, use index listed above
- 1795-1930 – Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, 1795-1930 on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522, incomplete for all counties
- 1795-1930 - Naturalization Petitions for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1522
- 1729-1773 - Naturalization records at PAGenWeb - free.
- 1795-1952 – Pennsylvania, Eastern District Naturalization Indexes, 1795-1952 on FamilySearch.org - free, National Archives publication M1248, browsesable images of card index
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1798-1852 Naturalization Papers FHL film 1036789 item 9 (first of 5 films) - Index included: 1798-1915
- 1798-1915 Naturalization Papers FHL film 1403247 item 1 (first of 15 films) - Index included: 1798-1915
- 1798-1852 Naturalization Papers FHL film 1036789 item 9 (first of 5 films) - Index included: 1798-1915
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Berks County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Berks County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Berks County
- PA-Roots List of Newspapers Published in Berks County Click on News Clippings and then click on "List of Newspapers Published in Berks County."
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
- The Reading Eagle, which began in 1868, is currently the major newspaper for the county. Their web site does have a searchable archive that covers the period 1989 to the present. There is a fee to search the archives and you can print the images.
- Hamburger Schnellpost of Hamburg, Pennsylvania was a German-language newspaper.
- Nolan, James Bennett, Newspapers of Berks County, Pennsylvania (SLC, Utah, 1985) FHL film 1425613 item 10
- Miller, Daniel, The German Newspapers of Berks County FHL book 974.816 C4t Volume 3 (1910)
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- Reading Eagle January 28, 1868 - December 31, 2008
- Reading Eagle Reading Times A.M. Berks June 5, 1991 - June 15, 1991
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- USGenWeb Newspaper Items Related to Berks County
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles
- Adams, David M., Berks County, Pennsylvania, Wedding Anniversaries (SLC, Utah, 1997) FHL film 1598510 item 2
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- Index to Berks County Obituaries
- PA-Roots Obituaries for Berks County.
Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts
Occupations
Iron Industry
The histories and owners of Colebrookdale Furnace, Mount Pleasant Furnace, Hopewell Furnace, Oley Furnace, Berkshire Furnace, Pool Forges, Pine Forge, Hay-Creek Forge, Oley Forge, Spring Forges, Mount Pleasant Forge, Gibraltar Forge, Charming Forge, Union Furnace, District Furnace, Sally-Ann Furnace, Joanna Furnace, Dale Furnace, Mary-Ann Furnace, Reading Furnace, Greenwood Furnace, Brobst's Furnace, Rockland Forges, Burkhart's Forge, Dale Forge, District Forge, and Speed-well Forge and described in:
- Montgomery, Morton L. "Early Furnaces and Forges of Berks County, Pennsylvania," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 8 (1884):56-81. For free online access, see WeRelate.
Indentured Servants
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Berks County, Pennsylvania (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database.
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Berks County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Probate records for Berks County are located on the 2nd floor in the Service Center next to the courthouse. Computers are located in the service center to help you identify the probate file you wish to view. The older probate files are on microfiche and the office staff will retrieve the files for you once you have the probate file number. Fiche copiers are located in the office to make your own copies of the records.
Online Probate Indexes
- 1733-1825 Index to Berks County Estates and Wills, 1733-1825. To access the index, click on the link to "Wills" found on the home page. Includes will abstracts, 1733-1825, estate administrations, 1733-1825, and various transcriptions of wills and estate records.
- 1752-Present Berks County This index was created by volunteers at the the Berks County courthouse and is located on their website.
- 1752-1914-Berks County, Pennsylvania Estate Records on Ancestry$
- 1752-1850-Index of Berks County, Pennsylvania, wills and administration records on Ancestry$
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994-Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Berks County Only:
- 1752-1936- Berks County Probate Records
- 1752-1936- Berks County Probate Records
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1752-1860 Wills FHL film 20722 (first of 8 films)-Index included, 1752-1915
- 1752-1851 Administration Letters and Bonds FHL 196590-Index included, 1752-1915
- 1752-1915 Estate Files FHL film 1644017 (first of 337 films)
Will Abstracts
- Berks County, Pennsylvania Will Abstracts, 1733-1825 are available on the Berks County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb. To access the abstracts, click on the link to "Wills" found on the home page.
- Will Abstracts at Berks County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives. Includes Abtracts of Berks Co., Wills, 1752-1825 with index.
Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts
Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Berks County, Pennsylvania probate wills in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- 1752-1850 - Williams, Richard T. and Mildred C. Williams. Index of Berks County, Pennsylvania Wills and Administration Records 1752-1850. Danboro, Pa.: the authors, 1973. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Repositories
Archives
- Prothonotary's Office Archive Center
Berks County Courthouse, 2nd Floor
633 Court Street
Reading, PA 19601
Hours: Tuesday and Thursday - 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Phone: (610) 478-6970 ext. 3486
Records in this office consist of the following: Sheriff Deeds Grantor/Grantee Index; Appearance Docket: 1754 - 1950; Judgment Docket: 1770 - 1956; Execution Docket: 1768 - 1960; Mechanics Liens: 1836 - 1937; City Liens: 1861 - 1927; Locality Index; Naturalization Records: 1795 to present; Miscellaneous records which include: divorces, registration of doctors and attorneys, "lunatics and drunkards," and other miscellaneous materials.
- Prothonotary's Office Archive Center
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Berks County Courthouse
633 Court Street
Reading, PA 19601
Phone: (610) 478-6136
Hours: 8 AM to 5 PM
Closed on holidays
Public parking is available on the south side of Court Street across from the Service Center.
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. The prothonotary does have a website with limited indexes for searching. There are no on-line divorce indexes. Some of their records are stored off site and staff makes one trip a month to retrieve off-site files. It is a good idea to contact the prothonotary before visiting so that, if need be, staff can retrieve the off-site record before your visit. Their website does have e-mail contact available. The staff is very helpful.
- Berks County Prothonotary
Second Floor
633 Court Street
Reading, PA 19601
Phone: 610-478-6970
- Berks County Prothonotary
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Berks County, Pennsylvania is the Reading Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
The Reading Public Library is located at 100 South Fifth Street in Reading. Free parking is available in the rear of the library for library patrons. Microfilm copiers are avaiable and full runs of the Reading Eagle and the Reading Times are open to the public. Located on the second floor of the library is the Pennsylvania Room. It contains local histories and genealogies associated with Berks County. City directories and high school yearbooks are also located in the Pennsylvania Room.
The Mennonite Heritage Center
565 Yoder Road
Harleysville PA 19438-1020
Phone:(215) 256-3020
library@mhep.org
Hours: Tuesday thru Friday, 10am–5pm, Saturday, 10am–2pm
The Mennonite Historians of Eastern Pennsylvania support the John L. Ruth Historical Library and Museum at the Mennonite Heritage Center. Located in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania the records and resources of this treasure also cover the counties of Bucks, Chester, Berks, Lehigh, Northampton, and Philadelphia. The website provides a comprehensive overview of library resources, online cemetery database, manuscript collections, photo collections, archival collections, and more.
Museums
Foundation for the Reading Public Museum
500 Museum Road
Reading, PA 19611-1425
Phone: (610) 371-5844
Central Pennsylvania African American Museum
Old Bethel
African Methodist Episcopal Church
119 N. Tenth Street
Reading, PA 19601
Phone: (610) 371-8713
Email: mgilyard@cpaam.net
Societies
Rich in history, Berks County contains a number of societies dealing with the history of the area.
The Historical Society of the Berks County is located on Centre Street in Reading. There are varying degrees of membership ranging from a $55.00 yearly single membership to a $1,000.00 yearly patron membership. There is also a youth membership, ages 8-15, for $17.76. The society has an interesting and informative monthly televison program. The program can be viewed, for free, at BCTV.ORG. When you access the BCTV website, in the search box type "historical society" to find the latest historical society TV program.
The Berks County Genealogical Society is located in the Goggle Works building at:
201 Washington Street, Reading, PA 19601
Phone: (610) 921-4970
E-mail: berksgenes@dejazzd.com
Plenty of free parking is available.
Other local societies are:
Albany Township Historical Society
Boyertown Area Historical Society
43 South Chestnut Street
Boyertown, Pa 19512
Phone: (610) 367-5255
E-mail: Boyertownhistory@windstream.net
Fleetwood Area Historical Society
110 W. Arch St.
Fleetwood, PA 19522
Phone: (610) 698-2383
E-mail: history@fleetwoodpa.org
Kutztown Area Historical Society
P.O. Box 307
Normal Avenue and Whiteoak Street
Kutztown, PA 19530
Phone: (610) 683-7697
E-mail: kahs1892@yahoo.com
Schools
Wyomissing, PA High School 1940 Girls Glee Club
Taxation
- 1767-1768, 1779-1781, 1784-1785 - Proprietary and State Tax Lists of the County of Berks: For the Years 1767, 1768, 1779, 1780, 1781, 1784, 1785. (Pennsylvania Archives, Series 3, Vol. 18). Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Google Books - free.
- 1798 - Pennsylvania, U.S. Direct Tax Lists, 1798 at Ancestry ($).
Vital Records
Vital records in Berks County are handled by the Orphan's Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in ernest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905.| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
- Records are available at the courthouse service center and also on microfilm at
- FHL films 1644015-1644016 item 1
- FHL films 20794-20795
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 only. Once an individual is located in the index a certificate can be obtained by writing to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
The cost for an un-certified birth certificate is $3.00. You may also try:
- 1726-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1833-1903 - Berks County Birth Index 1833-1903 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Births Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1876-1906 - Berks County, Pennsylvania Births, 1876-1906 at Ancestry.com - ($); index only.
- Berks County, Pennsylvania Delayed Births at Ancestry.com - ($); index only.
- 1817-1873 - Greenwich Birth Index 1817-1873 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C543428.[5]
Marriage
Marriage records are located on the second floor of the courthouse Service Center and are available to the public. Computers are located in the office to obtain the volume and page number of the certificate for the couple you are seeking. Take the volume and page number to the marriage licence office and a staff member will retrieve the certificate. The marriage records are on microfiche and copiers are available. You can also try:
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1801-1825 - Berks County Marriages at Berks County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. For Berks County this set of records covers 1885 through 1906 only.
- 1885-1909 – Marriage Dockets FHL films 20796-20811
- 1885-1929 - Berks County, Pennsylvania Marriages, 1885-1929 at Ancestry.com - ($); index only.
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
Death records, 1893 through 1906, are available at the courthouse Service Center.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a certificate can be obtained by writing to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
The cost for a non-certified death certificate is $3.00.
Records may also be found at:
- 1852-1855– Deaths FHL film 20793 item 1
- 1860-1900 - Berks County Death Index 1860-1900 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1873-1905 - Reading Death Index 1873-1905 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[5]
- 1894-1906– Deaths, v.1 FHL film 20793 items 2-3
- 1905-1906– Death ReturnsFHL film 1644016 item 2
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1852-1855, 1894-1906 - Berks County, Pennsylvania Deaths, 1852-1854, 1894-1906 at Ancestry.com - ($); index only
- 1817-1886 - Greenwich Birth Index 1817-1886 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch B543427.[5]
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Berks County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Berks County, Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Berks County, Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
- TOWNSHIPS (as of 1990): Albany, Alsace, Amity, Bern, Bethel, Brecknock, Caernarvon, Centre, Colebrookdale, Cumru, District, Douglass, Earl, Exeter, Greenwich, Heidelberg, Hereford, Jefferson, Longswamp, Lower Alsace, Lower Heidelberg, Maidencreek, Marion, Maxatawny, Muhlenberg, North Heidelberg, Oley, Ontelaunee, Penn, Perry, Pike, Richmond, Robeson, Rockland, Ruscombmanor, South Heidelberg, Spring, Tilden, Tulpehocken, Union, Upper Bern, Upper Tulpehocken, Washington, Windsor.
- BOROUGHS (as of 1990): Adamstown, Bally, Bechtelsville, Bernville, Birdsboro, Boyertown, Centerport, Fleetwood, Hamburg, Kenhorst, Kutztown, Laureldale, Leesport, Lenhartsville, Lyons, Mohnton, Mount Penn, Robesonia, St. Lawrence, Shillington, Shoemakersville, Sinking Spring, Strausstown, Temple, Topton, Wernersville, West Lawn, West Reading, Womelsdorf, Wyomissing, Wyomissing Hills.
- CITIES (as of 1990): Reading.
Berks County, Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 Morton L. Montgomery, Historical and Biographical Annals of Berks County Pennsylvania (Chicago: J.H. Beers and Co., 1909), 46-47. WorldCat 4281157; FHL book 974.816 D2m
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 Philip Syng Physick Conner,"Registers of the Anglican Church in Pennsylvania prior to 1800," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 12 (1888):341-349. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- ↑ 5.00 5.01 5.02 5.03 5.04 5.05 5.06 5.07 5.08 5.09 5.10 5.11 5.12 5.13 5.14 5.15 5.16 5.17 5.18 5.19 5.20 5.21 5.22 5.23 5.24 5.25 5.26 5.27 5.28 5.29 5.30 5.31 5.32 5.33 5.34 5.35 5.36 5.37 5.38 5.39 5.40 5.41 5.42 5.43 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/86/Igipennsylvaniabb.pdf.
- ↑ William Wade Hinshaw and Phyllis J. Selby, The William Wade Hinshaw Index to Pennsylvania Quaker Meeting Records (Kokomo, Ind.: Selby Publishing and Printing, 1990). Vol. 2. FHL Book 974.8 K2w v. 2
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/accesssed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ 10.0 10.1 10.2 John B.B. Trussell and Charles C. Dallas, The Pennsylvania Line; Regimental Organization and Operations, 1776-1783 (Harrisburg, Pa.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1977). Digital version at Family History Archive.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "6th Pennsylvania Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Pennsylvania_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 21 May 2013, at 23:41.
- This page has been accessed 9,595 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More








