BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire

Guide to Berkshire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

England-berkshire.png
Berkshire, also known as the Royal County of Berks, is located in the central part of England.

Contents

Featured Content

"BERKS, or Berkshire, an inland county, within the basin of the Thames. It is bounded, on the N, by Gloucester, Oxford and Bucks; on the E, by Surrey; on the S, by Herts; and on the W, by Wilts...

"Berks contains 146 parishes, parts of 14 others, and three extra-parochial tracts... The county town is Reading; and the market towns are Reading, Abingdon, Faringdon, Newbury, Wantage, Wokingham, Maidenhead, East Ilsley, Lambourn, Hungerford, Wallingford, and Windsor...

"Quarter sessions are held... at Reading; and.. at Abingdon... Berks is in the diocese of Oxford; and constitutes an archdeaconry, comprising four deaneries... The places of worship within the electoral county in 1851 were 206 of the Church of England, 34 of Independents, 41 of Baptists, 5 of Quakers, 1 of Unitarians, 72 of Wesleyan Methodists, 53 of Primitive Methodists, 4 of Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, 1 of Brethren, 10 of isolated congregations, 2 of Latter Day Saints, and 6 of Roman Catholics...

"Population in 1801 was 110,480; in 1821, 132,639; in 1841, 161,759; and in 1861, 176,256...

SOURCE:  The above extract is taken from, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72.

Getting Started

Before starting your research in Berkshire, you might wish to read the article Finding Ancestors in England.

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Berkshire.

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Berkshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.  The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place.  Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Berkshire and the parishes covered by each. 

Read more about England Civil Registration.

Berkshire Parishes

Click here for a list of the historic ecclesiastical parishes in Berkshire and to learn more about them.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Berkshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Berkshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Berkshire Probate Records.

Research Tools

Other Websites

Here is a list of other websites of genelaogical value for Berkshire. Please add to the list as you find something of interest.

Getting Help with your Genealogy

Professional Genealogists who specialize in Southeast England Research helps you compare the expertise, credentials, and rates of professional researchers who can help you access these records.





 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 November 2014, at 14:59.
  • This page has been accessed 14,359 times.