Bermondsey Christ Church, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go go  Surreygo to Surrey Parishes

Bermondsey Christ Church, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bermondsey Christ Church, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Bermondsey PLU
Registration District Bermondsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bermondsey Christ Church was originally created as one of several chapelries lying within the boundary of the ancient parish of St Mary Magdalen Bermondsey. It was constructed by the year 1845*.

The other chapels built prior to 1900 in the ancient parish and borough included:

  • Charterhouse Mission, Bermondsey -
  • Christ Church - 1845*
  • Clare College Mission, Bermondsey - 1886
  • Holy Trinity Rotherhithe St, Bermondsey - 1838
  • St Anne Thorburn Sq, Bermondsey - 1866
  • St Augustine, South Bermondsey - 1872
  • St Crispin, Southwark Park Rd - 1874 *St Hugh, Crosby Row - 1885
  • St James, Jamaica Rd, Bermondsey - 1830
  • St Luke, Grange Road - 1885 * St Mary Magdalen - 1548
  • St Paul, Kipling St - 1846
  • St Saviour, Southwark Park Rd - 1874
  • St Stephen‘s Mission Church, Tenda Rd - 1872

BERMONDSEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish and union, in the borough of Southwark, E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of Surrey, 1½ mile(S. S. E.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records


Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
 

Websites


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 214-223. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:43.
  • This page has been accessed 3,190 times.