Bertie County, North CarolinaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
North Carolina
Bertie County
Guide to Bertie County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Bertie County, North Carolina | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of North Carolina | |||||||||
![]() Location of North Carolina in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | 1722 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Windsor | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents
|
County Courthouse
| | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
Bertie County, North Carolina
108 W Dundee Street
Windsor, NR 27983-1208
Phone:252-794-5300
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records,
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1869
& probate records from 1763[1]
History
Parent County
The county was formed as Bertie Precinct in 1722 from the part of Chowan Precinct of Albemarle County lying west of the Chowan River. It was named for James Bertie, his brother Henry Bertie, or perhaps both, each having been one of the Lords Proprietors of Carolina.
In 1729 parts of Bertie Precinct, Chowan Precinct, Currituck Precinct, and Pasquotank Precinct of Albemarle County were combined to form Tyrrell Precinct. With the abolition of Albemarle County in 1739, all of its constituent precincts became separate counties. In 1741 parts of Bertie County became Edgecombe County and Northampton County. Finally, in 1759 parts of Bertie County, Chowan County, and Northampton County were combined to form Hertford County, and Bertie was reduced to its present size.
1722--Bertie County was created 2 August 1722 from Chowan County. County seat: Windsor [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Bertie County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
Church Records
Baptist
- Cashie, near Windsor, N.C. Constituted 1771.[3]
- Joshua Freeman's, near Wiccacon. Established by 1786.[3]
- Sandy Run. Constituted 1773.[3]
- Wiccacon on the Chowan River. Established by 1772.[3]
- Wickicoan Creek. Established 1789.[3]
Church of England
Court
Family Histories
Bibliography
- [Boddie] Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Bertie County for European settlers included:[5]
- Atlantic Ocean
- King's Highway about 1704
- Secondary Coast Road late 1730s
Military
Civil War
Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, usually known as the Bethel Regiment.
- -5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
Newspapers
Probate
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Bertie County, North Carolina Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1761-1961 - Will Books A to O (1761-1961) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Bertie County Estate Records -indexed by Names
Obituaries
Taxation
Vital Records
Marriages
- Pre-1799 - North Carolina Marriages to 1799, database North Carolina Pioneers $$
- 1762-1868 - Marriages of Bertie County 1762-1868 at World Vital Records ($).
- 1774-1854 - Bertie County Marriages 1774-1854 North Carolina Pioneers $$
- 1851-1968 - Bertie County Marriage Index 1851-1968 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[6]
Yearbooks
- Bertie County students at NC colleges - list via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- NCGenWeb: Bertie County - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Bertie County at Our Family Tree
- North Carolina Pioneers North Carolina Pioneers $
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bertie County, North Carolina p. 506. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:475, 485, 488; 2:561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 414, 501. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 May 2013, at 14:32.
- This page has been accessed 3,215 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


