Bethnal Green St Andrew, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Middlesex go to Middlesex Parishes go to London go to London Parishes go to Bethnal Green St Andrew

Bethnal Green St Andrew, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

The church of St. Andrew, in South Conduit street, was built by December, 1841. This chapel of ease lay within the civil parish boundary of St Matthew Bethnal Green.[1]

See St Matthew Bethnal Green for more information about this church's establishment.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bethnal Green St Andrew, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1843
1843
1843
Images
Indexes 1843-1876 FamilySearch[2] 1843-1875 FamilySearch[3] 1843-1876 DocklandsAncestors[4]
1843-1876 DocklandsAncestors[4] 1843-1876 DocklandsAncestors[4]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438807.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. Batch C037601, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  3. Batches M037601-M037602, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,564 times.