Bethnal Green St Barnabus, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bethnal Green St Barnabas

Guide to Bethnal Green St Barnabus, Middlesex family history and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

St Barnabas Bethnal Green is a late 19th-century church near Bethnal Green, London, England. It is an Anglican church in the Diocese of London.[1] Thechurch is at the junction of Roman Road and Grove Road in the Bow West ward of London Borough of Tower Hamlets.[1]

BETHNAL GREEN ST BARNABAS is an ecclesiastical parish.[2]

St Barnabas Bethnal Green was a district church created in 1870 to handle the rapid population growth in the St Matthew Bethnal Green civil parish boundaries (in which it resided).

See St Matthew Bethnal Green.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438807.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bethnal Green on GENUKI

References

  1. Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  2. F. Youngs, Local Administrative Units: Southern England (London: Royal Historical Society (1979),fckLRAdapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 15:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,233 times.