Bethnal Green St James the Great, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Middlesex go to Middlesex Parishes go to London


Bethnal Green St James the Great, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bethnal Green St James the Great, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Bethnal Green PLU
Registration District Bethnal Green
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The chapel of St. James the Great, in Bethnal-Green Road which was built by the year 1844. It lay within the civil parish boundary of St Matthew Bethnal Green.[1]

BETHNAL-GREEN (St. Matthew), a parish, and a union of itself, in the borough of the Tower Hamlets. The church of St James the Great, is on the Bethnal-Green road.[2]

See St Matthew Bethnal Green.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bethnal Green St James the Great, Middlesex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1844
1844
1844
Images
Indexes 1844-1869 DocklandsAncestors[3] 1844-1869 DocklandsAncestors[3] 1844-1869 DocklandsAncestors[3]
        1846-1854 BritishOrigins[4]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438807.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bethnal Green on GENUKI

References

  1. 1.Samuel Lewis, ed. "Besford - Beverley," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 223-228. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.
  4. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 4,674 times.