Bethnal Green St Matthew, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Middlesex go to Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Bethnal Green St Matthew, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bethnal Green St Matthew, Middlesex
Stmatthewsbethnalgreen.jpg
Stmatthewsbethnalgreen
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Tower Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Bethnal Green PLU
Registration District Bethnal Green
Records begin
Parish registers: 1746
Bishop's Transcripts: 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Church records

Online Bethnal Green St Matthew Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1745
1745
1745
Images
1745-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[1]
1813-1906 Ancestry[2] 1754-1921 Ancestry[3] 1813-1870 Ancestry[4]
Indexes 1746-1875 FamilySearch[5] 1746-1756 findmypast[6] 1790-1819 Docklands
Ancestors
[7]
1790-1819 Docklands
Ancestors
[7]
1746-1766 BritishOrigins[8]
1790-1799 findmypast[9] 1766-1879 FamilySearch[10]
1790-1819 Docklands
Ancestors
[7]
    1801-1837 Ancestry[11]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Non-Conformist Churches

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438807.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Bethnal Green

Parish History

'BETHNAL-GREEN (St. Matthew), an ancient parish, was built by 1743, in the borough of the Tower Hamlets, Tower division in the Ossulstone Hundred, county of Middlesex. It lay about 2.5  miles northeast by east of St. Paul Cathedral. Also see the districts called Church, Green, Hackney-road, and Town divisions.'[12]

'By 1870, there were upwards of 16 churches associated with and coming under the jurisdiction of this civil parish. There were also churches established for Baptists, Independents, Methodists, and others.' Here is a  Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches Lying within the Civil Parish of Bethnal Green as of 1900.] [13]

The Victoria County History of Bethnal Green (1998) is available online. It includes chapters on estates, economic history, local government, churches, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, Judaism, Buddhism, education, and charities for the poor.[14]

See also a Comprehensive List of Chapels and District Churches Lying within the Civil Parish of Bethnal Green as of 1900.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bethnal Green on GENUKI

References

  1. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Matthew, Bethnal Green in Tower Hamlets Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  2. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bethnal Green St Matthew in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bethnal Green St Matthew in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Bethnal Green St Matthew in Tower Hamlets Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. Batches C046981, C046982, C046983, C046984, C046987, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  6. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  9. 'FindMyPast.co.uk Publishes Half a Million More Parish Records and Launches Browse Function,' EOGN.com, posted 13 April 2012.
  10. Batches M046982, M046983, M046984, M046985, M046986, M046987, M046988, M046989, M133031, M133032, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  12. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  13. Samuel Lewis, ed. "Besford - Beverley," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 223-228. (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here. Adapted.
  14. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 11: Stepney, Bethnal Green (2004). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=92 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 December 2014, at 17:16.
  • This page has been accessed 10,913 times.