Beverley Saint John, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Beverley Saint John

Guide to Beverley Saint John, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beverley Saint John, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Beverley; Harthill; Holderness
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Beverly PLU
Registration District Beverley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Tickton beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Tickton beginning 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEVERLEY, a borough, market-town, and the head of a union, in the E. riding of York, 9 miles (N. W.) from Hull, 29 (E. S. E.) from York, and 183 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. John, St. Martin, St. Mary, and St. Nicholas, the first of which includes the townships of Aike, Eske, Molescroft, Storkhill with Sandholme, Thearne, Tickton with Hull-Bridge, Weel, and Woodmansey with Beverley-Park; and containing 8759 inhabitants. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

BEVERLEY, a town, four parishes, a subdistrict, and a district in E. R. Yorkshire. St. John's parish includes the townships of Thearne, Weel, Molescroft, Storkhill and Sandholme, Woodmansey-with-Beverley Parks, and Tickton-with-Hull-Bridge within the borough, and the township of Eske and part of the township of Aike, without the borough. Pop., 1,315. Houses, 261. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Beverley St Johns with St Martin exist at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = findmypast (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BEVERLEY ST JOHN with ST MARTIN PARISH (1713) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1714-1864
1713-1837

None

JOIN None

1713-1837

None

FMP (£) None

None

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1558.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464220.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 223-228. Adapted. Date accessed: 03 January 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-1872 Adapted. Date Accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,794 times.