Bevington, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Bevington, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bevington, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Liverpool
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Liverpool PLU
Registration District Liverpool
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool North
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BEVINGTON, a chapelry in Liverpool parish, in the northern part of Liverpool borough. It was constituted in 1845.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Parish registers for St. Alban's Church, Liverpool Microfilm of original records at the Parish Church, Liverpool and the Liverpool Record Office.
Liverpool Record Office no.: 283 ALB 2/1-5, 3/1-5.

Baptisms, 1846-1941. FHL BRITISH Film 93797
Baptisms, 1846-1920 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1656146 Items 2 - 6
Marriages, 1850-1886. FHL BRITISH Film 93798
Marriages, 1850-1875 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1656146 Items 7 - 8
Marriages, 1886-1947. Banns, 1892-1937. FHL BRITISH Film 93799
Marriages, 1875-1920 (another filming). Banns, 1892-1937 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film 1656147 Items 1 - 4

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438717.


Poor Law Unions

Liverpool, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bevington a chapelry in Liverpool on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 3,298 times.