Bewdley, WorcestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Bewdlry, Worcestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bewdley, Worcestershire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Doddingtree
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Kidderminster PLU
Registration District Kidderminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1763
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BEWDLEY, a borough, market-town, and chapelry having separate jurisdiction, in the parish of Ribbesford and union of Kidderminster, locally in the Lower division of the hundred of Doddingtree, and in the Hundred-House and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 14 miles (N. W.) from Worcester. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.[1]

Additional information:

Guide to Bewdley, Worcestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Bewdley was until Henry IV, an extra-parochial chapelry when it was then united to Ribbesford Parish. Search Ribbesford and other surrounding parishes for records and information.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church registers exist for this chapelry from 1763, but mostly from 1853. Some of the registers were kept at Ribbesford Parish and, also see Dowles Parish (Shropshire; which see). There were various denominations existent here, whose church registers mostly survive from as early as 1673. You can view Baptist, Society of Friends and Presbyterian (Unitarian) registers via the Family History Library.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464205.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 01 October 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 August 2014, at 17:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,218 times.