Bexhill St Peter, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Bexhill St Peter, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bexhill St Peter, Sussex
Old Bexhill St Peter Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bexhill; Hastings Borough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Battle PLU
Registration District Battle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BEXHILL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Battle, hundred of Bexhill, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 8 miles (S.) from Battle  ;A chapel of ease has been erected on Little Common, and there is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

 Bexhill St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the county of Sussex.Other places in the parish include: Liberty of the Sluice.

history and images

See Bexhill Sussex Online ParishClerks (OPC)

For history of Bexhill parish see A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 228-233. British History Online

The Old village of Bexhill is referred to in Bexhill-on-Sea Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.

Certificates may be obtained from

East Sussex County Council

The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG

Phone: 01323 464780

Fax: 01323 431386

Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Bexhill St Peter, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
Bexhill St Peter, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1724-1907
SOPC Undefined

Undefined

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bexhill St Peter

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Battle Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 228-233. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 21:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,569 times.