Bibb County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Bibb County

Guide to Bibb County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Bibb County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Bibb County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 7, 1818
County Seat Centerville
Courthouse
Address Bibb County Courthouse
35 Court Square East
Centerville, AL 35042
Phone: (205) 926-3103
Bibb County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Bibb County Alabama Courthouse.jpg
 Bibb County Courthouse,
35 Court Square East,
Centerville, AL 35042,
Phone: (205) 926-3103


County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records from 1818. Clerk Circuit court has divorce and court records.[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Cahawba County was created 7 February 1818 from Monroe, Montgomery Counties. Cahawba County was renamed Bibb County on 4 December 1820 .
County seat: Centreville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Albibb.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biography

Biographies of many notable residents of Bibb County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 478.

Cemeteries

FindAGrave ~  Transcriptions and partial transcriptions of Bibb County cemeteries

Additional Bibb County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

For tips on accessing Bibb County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Year Pop.  %±
1820 3,676
1830 6,306 71.5%
1840 8,284 31.4%
1850 9,999 20.7%
1860 11,894 19.0%
1870 7,469 −37.2%
1880 9,487 27.0%
1890 13,824 45.7%
1900 18,498 33.8%
1910 22,791 23.2%
1920 23,144 1.5%
1930 20,780 −10.2%
1940 20,155 −3.0%
1950 17,987 −10.8%
1960 14,357 −20.2%
1970 13,812 −3.8%
1980 15,723 13.8%
1990 16,576 5.4%
2000 20,826 25.6%
2010 22,915 10.0%
Sources: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  through 1960

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Bibb County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Bibb County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.182 E7bg.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bibb County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Northern Alabama, Historical and Biographical. Birmingham, Ala.: Smith and De Land, 1888. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Bibb County, Alabama begins on page 109.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Bibb County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Bibb County.

- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, D, F and G
- 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Bibb Rifles"
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 44th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B, F, G and H



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bibb County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Bibb County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Bibb County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • 1830-1976 - Bibb County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.
  • England, Flora D. Index of Book A, Minutes of Probate Court, Bibb County, Alabama. Marion, Ala., 1964. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Bibb County is in District 2.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • 1818–1860, 1862, 1932, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1820-1860 - Gandrud, Pauline Myra Jones. Marriage Records of Bibb County, Alabama, 1820-1860: Being Transcribed and Indexed from the Original Marriage Books. Memphis, Tenn.: The Milestone Press, 1969. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1828–1842 "Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1909-1911 - Bibb County Death Index 1909-1911. Batch B545192 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Bibb County has two books:

Book 1

Book 2

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 35.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.
  4. Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:21.
  • This page has been accessed 22,548 times.