Bibb County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow.png  Bibb County

Guide to Bibb County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Bibb County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Bibb County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded 9 December, 1822
County Seat Macon
Courthouse
Address Bibb County Courthouse
601 Mulberry Street
Macon, GA 31201-2672
Phone: 912.749.6527
Bibb County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Bibb County Courthouse
601 Mulberry Street
Macon, GA 31201-2672
Phone: 912.749.6527


County Health Department has birth, death and burial records; Probate Court has marriage and probate records; County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1823.[1]

Beginning Dates for Bibb County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1823

History

Parent County

1822--Bibb county was created 9 December 1822 from Jones, Monroe, Twiggs and Houston Counties.
County seat: Macon [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

  • 1865-1875 - Bibb County Colored Marriage Books A and B Index 1865-1874. Batch M712118 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874-1882 - Bibb County Colored Marriage Book C Index 1874-1882. Batch M712119 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1882-1909 - Bibb County Colored Marriage Books D and E Index 1882-1909. Batch M712121 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1892-1899 - Bibb County Colored Marriage Books F and G Index 1892-1899. Batch M712122 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1899-1906 - Bibb County Colored Marriage Books H and I Index 1899-1906. Batch M712123 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Bible Records

Cemeteries


Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Macon
Episcopal

Christ Church Parish, Macon

  • Hart, Oliver J. The History of Christ Church Parish, Macon, Georgia: March 5th 1825, March 5th, 1925. Macon, Ga.: Lyon, Harris & Brooks, Printers and Binders, 1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon

  • 1861-1903 - St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Baptism Index 1861-1903. Batch C712161 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1861-1903 - St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Marriage Index 1861-1903. Batch M712161 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1861-1903 - St. Barnabas Mission Chapel, Macon, Death Index 1861-1903. Batch B003552 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

St. Paul's Church, Macon

  • 1870-1959 - St. Paul's Church, Macon, Baptism Index 1870-1959. Batch C712171 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Methodist

Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright

  • 1893-1958 - Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright, Baptism Index 1893-1958. Batch C712131 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1891-1895 - Park Memorial Methodist Church, Arkwright, Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M712131 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Vineville Methodist Church, Macon

  • 1891-1937 - Vineville Methodist Church, Macon, Baptism Index 1891-1937. Batch C712181 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1891-1895 - Vineville Methodist Church, Macon, Marriage Index 1891-1895. Batch M712181 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Methodist Episcopal

Wilma Methodist Episcopal Church

  • 1856-1885 - Wilma Methodist Episcopal Church Baptism Index 1856-1885. Batch C712091 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

Mailing Lists
  • GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bibb County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Butler, John C. Historical Record of Macon and Central Georgia, Containing Many Interesting and Valuable Reminiscences Connected with the Whole State, Including Numerous Incidents and Facts Never Before Published and of Great Historic Value. Macon, GA, USA: J. W. Burke, 1879. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gabibb.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bibb County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bibb County, Georgia:




- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company M
- 8th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 10th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 30th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 45th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 54th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 61st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Compies B, G, and H
- 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bibb County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Wills
  • 1823-1929 - Bibb County, Georgia Will Testators Index (Vols. A-H) at SamPubCo - free.
  • 1823-1855 - Abstracts of Bibb County, Georgia 1823-1855 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1823-1855 - Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1851-1864 - Abstracts of Bibb County, Georgia 1851-1864 at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1851-1871 - Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1870, 1891, 1914 - Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1891-1907 - Index to Bibb County, Georgia Wills and Estates at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Additional Probate Records
  • 1823-1844 - Index to Bibb County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1843-1851 - Index to Bibb County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1851-1854 - Index to Bibb County, Georgia Annual Returns at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1827-1839 - Bibb County Marriage Book A Index 1827-1839. Batch M712111 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1839-1858 - Bibb County Marriage Book B Index 1839-1858. Batch M712112 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1858-1865 - Bibb County Marriage Book C Index 1858-1865. Batch M712113 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1865-1874 - Bibb County Marriage Books D and E Index 1865-1874. Batch M712114 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874-1887 - Bibb County Marriage Book F Index 1874-1887. Batch M712115 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1885-1891 - Bibb County Marriage Book G Index 1885-1891. Batch M712116 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1891-1909 - Bibb County Court of Ordinary Marriage Index 1891-1909. Batch M712124 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1892-1895 - Bibb County Marriage Book H Index 1892-1895. Batch M712117 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death

Bibb County has an established protocol for issuing death certificates.

  • 1849-50, 1859-60 - Bibb County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bibb County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 4.12 4.13 4.14 4.15 4.16 4.17 4.18 4.19 4.20 4.21 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 15,494 times.