Bickleigh, Nr Plymouth DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Bickleigh, Near Plymouth, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bickleigh, Nr Plymouth Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Roborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plympton St Mary PLU
Registration District Plympton St Mary
Records begin
Parish registers: 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamerton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BICKLEIGH, a parish, in the union of Plympton St. Mary, hundred of Roborough, Midland-Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 7 miles (N. N. E.) from Plymouth. The patron lately rebuilt the church, and the new edifice was consecrated in August 1839.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bickleigh, Nr Plymouth Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Bickleigh, Nr Plymouth Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1609-1642) are online at Internet Archive - free.[3]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241319.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 14 June 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' FindMyPast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  3. Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,266 times.