Biddenden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Biddenden, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Biddenden, Kent
Biddenden All Saints Kent.jpg
Biddenden All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Berkeley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tenterden PLU
Registration District Tenterden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

BIDDENDEN (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tenterden, hundred of Barclay, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W. division of Kent, 5 miles (E. by N.) from Cranbrook. There is a meeting-house for dissenters.[1]

Biddenden is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of kent, see Biddenden Wikipedia

Biddenden All Saints is an Ancient Parish, a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The church is mediaeval built originally in the 13th century with 14 and 15th century additions.

The church of All Saints, High Street, Biddenden has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The conjoined twins Mary and Elza Chulkhurst "The Biddenden Maids" 1100-134 are commemorated in the village sign, see also Biddenden Maids Wikipedia.

John R. Winder ( 11 December 1821-1910) was born here and emigrated to Utah where he served as Presiding Bishop of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, see John R. Winder Wikipedia.

See also Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 130-141 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of Tenterden registration district Tenterden Registration District  Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House

(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[9]
Biddenden, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1899
1765-1860; 1754-1885 (Banns)
1538-1899
FREG
1538-1600, 1754-1911

FS PRs 1537-1669 1537-1669; 1814-1900 (banns) 1537-1669
MIDK 1754-1911
NBI

1538-1877

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Biddenden are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Biddenden 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tenterden Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

  • FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 233-237. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  8. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:33.
  • This page has been accessed 5,842 times.