Biddulph, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Biddulph, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Biddulph, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leek
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BIDDULPH (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Congleton, N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford, 3¼ miles (S. E. by. S.)from Congleton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Biddulph is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Bradley Green, Knypersley, Overton, Nether Biddulph, Over Biddulph, and Middle Biddulph.

Biddulph's name may come from Anglo-Saxon bī dylfe = "beside the pit or quarry". Some have said[weasel words] that the name Biddulph is a corruption of the Saxon Bidulfe, signifying Wolf Slayer, and as a result the Biddulph family crest is a wolf rampant.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Biddulph parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
BIDDULPH ST LAWRENCE PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1901 1558-1901 1560-1900 1560-1900 1559-1901 1559-1901
FREG 1558-1684, 1813-1852
1558-1684, 1813-1837
1558-1684, 1813-1861
FS 1559-1867
(gaps)

1559-1856

NBI

1559-1837

Biddulph parish registers, Microfilm copies of original records in the Staffordshire Record Office, Stafford, England. Contents: Baptisms, 1558-1640,1653-1902 -- Burials, 1558-1640, 1653-1906 -- Marriages, 1558-1640, 1655-1900.
Staffordshire Record Office no. : D3539/1/1-23.

Parish registers FHL BRITISH Film 1278828 Items 1-21

Bishop's transcripts for Biddulph Microfilm of original records in the Gloucester City Library, England.

Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1965, 1966

Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1661-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 417170 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1813-1868. FHL BRITISH Film 426485

Overseer accounts for Biddulph, 1630-1734
Microfilm copies of original records in the Staffordshire Record Office, Stafford, England.
Staffordshire Record Office no.: D3539/2/1-3.
Accounts 1630-1734 FHL BRITISH Film 1519700 Items 1-3

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474619.

Poor Law Unions

Congleton Poor Law Union, Cheshire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Biddulph/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,016 times.