Bidston, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Bidston

Guide to Bidston, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bidston, Cheshire
St Oswald Church Bidston.jpg
St Oswald Church Bidston
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1581
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BIDSTON or BIDSTONE, is a parish, in the union, and Lower division of the hundred of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester; comprising the townships of Bidstone with Ford, Moreton with Lingham, and Saughal l Massey; is 4 miles (W. by N.) from Birkenhead. The church is of the date 1547.[1]

Bidston St Oswald  Bidston cum Ford was a township in Bidston Parish, Wirral Hundred and included Bidston Moss and Ford.— See Mortincer’s History of the Hundred of Wirral.

The original church dates back to the 13th century. The tower was built in 1520. The rest of the church was rebuilt in 1855–56 by W. & J. Hay in Gothic Revival style. An extension was made to the chancel in 1882 by G. E. Grayson.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253.

Church Records

Bidston St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Bidston St Oswald Parish (1581) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1581-1871
1581-1871
1581-1871
FS PR's 1581-1909
  NONE
1581-1934
  NONE
1581-1958
  NONE
FS BT's 1581-1863   NONE
1581-1850   NONE
1581-1863   NONE
JOIN
1581-1836

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Bidston, St. Oswald (C of E), an ancient parish church, originally served the townships of Bidston cum Ford, Birkenhead, part of Claughton cum Grange, Moreton (near Wallasey) and Saughall Massie.

Parish registers for Bidstone, 1682-1958, are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. CRO reference:  P 86/1/1-2, 2/1-3, P 86/3631/1, P 86/3/1-8, P 86/3631/2/1, P 86/4/1-2, P 86/3631/3.

Bishop's transcripts for Bidstone, 1581-1863, are also deposited at the Cheshire Record Office; some years missing. CRO reference: EDB 25.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search at FamilySearch.org.

Here is a list of church registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1581-1700 090071
Baptisms, 1679-1955. Marriages 1679. Banns, 1754-1812. Burials, 1679-1812. 2103920
Items 8 - 15
Marriages, 1838-1958. Burials, 1813-1857. 2103921
Burials, June 1857-1958. 2103922


Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1581-1863, with gaps 1655397
item 2
Other Content FHL Film
Claughton rooms donation list, 1887-1889. St. Bedes mission baptisms, 1888-1907 2103922
Items 4 - 5
Claughton rooms donation list, 1887-1889. St. Bedes mission baptisms, 1888-1907 2103922
Items 4 - 5
Baptism, marriage and burial registers, 1581-1700, with index (3 fiches). BRITISH Access Services Window
6393934

The baptismal, marriage and burial registers of the Parish of Bidston in the county of Chester, 1581 to 1700
Stmnt.Resp. edited and annotated by William Fergusson Irvine
Authors Irvine, William Fergusson (Added Author)
Church of England. Parish Church of Bidstone (Cheshire) (Added Author)

Notes Reproduction of: Birkenhead : Willmer Brothers, 1893. 100, xxvi p. "Reprinted from the 'The Birkenhead News'"--T.p. "Only 100 copies printed, of which this is no. 46"--T.p. verso. (Bidston is also known as Bidstone).includes index.

The transcripts for the parish are online at Cheshire Parish Register project.

Birkenhead, All Saints (C of E). The parish church for part of Bidston from 1911 to 1971.

Leasowe, St Chad (C of E). The parish church for part of Bidston from 1957.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Non-Conformists Church records from Family History Library:

Church records for the Palm Grove Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Claughton-cum-Grange 1875-1955:
Marriages, 1875-1955. Film 2299418 Items 16 - 22

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Wirral (1837-1861)
  • Birkenhead (1861-1933)

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 2 Feb. 2013
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 6,135 times.