Big Horn County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wyoming
Big Horn County
Guide to Big Horn County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Big Horn County, Wyoming | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Wyoming in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 12, 1890 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Basin |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Big Horn County Courthouse 420 W C Street Basin, WY 82410 Phone: 307.568.2357 Big Horn County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 12 March 1890 from Fremont, Johnson and Sheridan counties
- County Seat: Basin [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Big Horn County, Montana | Carbon County, Montana | Johnson | Park | Sheridan | Washakie
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Big Horn County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church Records
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wyoming denominations, view the Wyoming Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Basin, Belfry, Burlington, Byron, Cody, Cowley, Greybull, Ionia, Lovell, Lovell West, Otto
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
The bulk of the probate case files from the 1890's to the 1940's have been transferred to the Wyoming State Archives in Cheyenne. Check their website for additional details.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1896.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1896.[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
- Western States Marriage Index over 1,936 marriages 20 Jan 1897 to 13 Nov 1922
Death
Websites
- The Big Horn WY GenWeb Project, a member of The WYGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- County Clerk
- Lookups (GenWeb)
- Wikipedia
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Basin | Deaver | Greybull | Lovell | Penrose |
| Burlington | Emblem | Hyattville | Manderson | Quality (hist.) |
| Byron | Flitners Corner | Ionia | Meadow Lark Lake | Shell |
| Cowley | Frannie | Kane | Otto |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 766. Big Horn County, Wyoming
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 19:29.
- This page has been accessed 2,128 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

