Biggleswade, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Biggleswade, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Biggleswade
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Biggleswade PLU
Registration District Biggleswade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shefford
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Biggleswade
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BIGGLESWADE, is a town, a parish, a subdistrict, a district, and a hundred, in Bedfordshire. It is adjacent to the Great Northern railway, 10½ miles ESE of Bedford, and 41 miles NNW of London. There are chapels for Independents, Baptists, and Methodists.  The parish includes the hamlets of Holme and Stratton. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241190.

Church records

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1637-1812
1604-1812
1604-1812
IGI 1637-1875 1604-1882
NBI

1604-1855

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Biggleswade

Poor Law Unions

  • Biggleswade

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Biggleswade on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72]) Date accessed: 31st October 2013.
  2. 'Bedfordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,123 times.