Billingford (near Scole), NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorfolkGotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Billingford (near Scole), Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Billingford (near Scole), Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Earsham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Redenhall
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BILLINGFORD (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Depwade, hundred of Earsham, E. division of Norfolk, 1½ mile (E.) from Scole. [1]

Billington St Leonard is an Ancient parish and includes: Thorpe Parva, Pierleston, and Pirleston. It is in the deanery of Redenhall and the Diocese of Norwich.

It should not be confused with the village and parish of St Peter of the same name Billingford (near Foulsham), Norfolk

BILLINGFORD (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Depwade, hundred of Earsham, E. division of Norfolk, 1½ mile (E.) from Scole. [2]

Church Records

Billingford (near Scole), Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Billingford (near Scole), Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1640-1753

FREG 1640-1812
1640-1837
1640-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1640-1812 Undefined 1640-1902 Undefined 1640-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.

Poor Law Union

Depwade Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Depwade1837-1935
  • Scole 1936-1974

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes B

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 237-241. Date accessed: :2 September 2013. X
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 237-241. Date accessed: :2 September 2013. X
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Described as 'Billingford, nr Diss.'
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  7. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014. Saint's dedication is not identified.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,947 times.