Billingshurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes
Billingshurst, Sussex
Billingshurst St+Mary Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Easwrith
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Petworth PLU
Registration District Petworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BILLINGSHURST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Petworth, hundred of West Easwrith, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 7½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Horsham;There are places of worship for Independents and Unitarians.[1]

Billingshurst St Mary is an Ancient parish in West Sussex.

Church history Billingshurst St Mary

The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also

Billingshurst Wikipedia Billingshurst Unitarian Chapel

Gospel Hall and Gingers Chapel List of demolished worship places in West Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district  See alsoPetworth Registration District
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Billingshurst, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
Billingshurst, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1584-1841
1575-1899

PRTS 1591-1886
1575-1889
1558-1631, 1653-1886

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Billingshurst

Census records

{{British Census|474671}
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions

Petworth Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 241-244. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'Billingshurst, Sussex, Baptisms, Coverage', FindMyPast, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Billingshurst, Sussex, Marriages, Coverage', FindMyPast, accessed 31 December 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,564 times.