Billington, BedfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Billington, Bedfordshire family history and genealogy:parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Billington, Bedfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manshead
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Leighton Buzzard PLU
Registration District Leighton Buzzard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Leighton Buzzard
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunstable
Diocese Pre-1846 - Lincoln; Post 1845 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Leighton Buzzard
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BELLINGTON, is a chapelry in Leighton-Buzzard parish, Bedfordshire; it is on the river Ouse, and the Leighton and Luton railway, 2 miles SE of Leighton-Buzzard. There is a Wesleyan chapel. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241193.

Church records

Billington, Bedfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Billington, Bedfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1609-1877 1842-1885
NBI

1611-1851

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Leighton Buzzard

Poor Law Unions

  • Leighton Buzzard

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)] Date accessed: 31st October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  3. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 20:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,443 times.