Billockby, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Billockby, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The tower was hit by a lightening strike in 1762 and the masonry destroyed the nave. A small part of the church restored in 1872 remained in use until abandoned. Billockby St Andrew is a ruined church and Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich.Date accessed: 2 September 2013

BILLOCKBY (ALL SAINTS), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 2½ miles (N. E.) from Acle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth & Flegg 1925-1935
  • Fleggburgh 1935-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Billockby, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Billockby, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1561-1748

FREG 1813-1837


FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1561-1748

PALL
1561-1748

TIN 1813-1880


This parish's registers do not appear on Record Search as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1600-1608, 1622-1637, 1666-1744 1769-1812 Marriages 1600, 1630, 1676-1744, 1777-1811 Burials 1600-1608, 1622-1637, 1666-1736 1777-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526745 Item 13

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.

Poor Law Unions

East and West Flegg http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 241-244. Date accessed: 2 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,098 times.