Bilsthorpe, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bilsthorpe, Nottinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Southwell PLU|
|Parish registers: 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
BILSTHORPE (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Southwell, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (S.) from Ollerton. 
Bilsthorpe St Margaret is an Ancient parish and has two names locally, Old Bilsthorpe to denote the original Settlement and New Bilsthorpe the new development around the village.
Bilsthorpe St Margaret has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Bilsthorpe Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bilsthorpe, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|BILSTHORPE PARISH Online Records|
Bilsthorpe St Margaret
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1654-1968 Marriages 1655-1951 Burials 1655-1983 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1853
Bilsthorpe St Luke Baptisms 1932-1939
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bilsthorpe
Bilsthorpe - St Margaret, and St. Margaret Extension. An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church, dating from 1750, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, pages 20-23, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Bilsthorpe in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Bilsthorpe/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 18 December 2014, at 19:31.
- This page has been accessed 1,551 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page