Bilston, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Bilston, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bilston, Staffordshire
Bilston St Leonard Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolverhampton PLU
Registration District Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wolverhampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Wolverhampton; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BILSTON, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish, borough, and union of Wolverhampton, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (S. E.) from Wolverhampton, 19 (S. by E.) from Stafford, and 120 (N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Roman Catholics; also a small Welsh chapel. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Bilston St Leonard formerly a chapelry of  Wolverhampton St Peter Marriages for 1755-1841 were performed at Wolverhampton St Peter and will be found in those registers.

Bilston St Leonard parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG =FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
WOLV = Wolverhampton History - free[7]
BILSTON ST LEONARD PARISH (1684) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1684-1876 1684-1876 1610-1900 1610-1900 1551-1893 1551-1893
FREG 1645-1902

1727-1959
FS 1684-1746, 1801-1835


JOIN
1687-1754

NBI

1684-1930
WOLV 1684-1837
1687-1754
1727-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1684-1998 Mar 1747-1754, 1841-1993 Bur 1727-1955
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1799-1835 Mar none Bur 1799-1835

Non-Conformist Churches

Bilston Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BILSTON WESLEYAN CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG



1824-1827

Bilston Colds Lane Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BILSTON COLDS LANE METHODIST CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG



1873-1964

Bilston High St. Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BILSTON HIGH ST. PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1827-1877




Bilston Oxford St. Independent Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BILSTON OXFORD ST. INDEPENDENT CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1785-1837




Bilston Swan Bank Wesleyan Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BILSTON SWAN BANK WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1816-1909
1818-1954

Cemetery Records

Bilston Cemetery (Consecrated Ground)[3]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1855-1928

Bilston Cemetery (Unconsecrated Ground)[3]

FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1855-1865

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474628.

Poor Law Unions

Wolverhampton Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Bilston/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Register Indexes', The History of Wolverhampton: The City and Its People, accessed 20 August 2014.
  8. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

http://www.localhistory.scit.wlv.ac.uk/interesting/StLeonards/StLeonards.htm


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 4,077 times.