Bilston St Luke, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Bilston St Luke, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bilston St Luke, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Wolverhampton PLU
Registration District Wolverhampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wolverhampton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Wolverhampton; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BILSTON, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish, borough, and union of Wolverhampton, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (S. E.) from Wolverhampton, 19 (S. by E.) from Stafford, and 120 (N. W.) from London; A church district named St. Luke's in the centre of the town, was endowed in 1845. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Roman Catholics; also a small Welsh chapel.[1]

Bilston, market town, W. Staffordshire, 2½ miles SE. of Wolverhampton and within its parl. bor., 139 miles from London by rail. It contains eccl. districts of B. St Leonard, B. St Luke, B. St Mary.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Bilston St Luke was formed in 1845 from Bilston, Staffordshire (St Leonard) The parish was abolished in  1922 and reunited with St Leonard.

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
  BILSTON ST LUKE  (1849) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1574-1901 1574-1901

FREG


1852-1960


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1849-1972 Mar 1852-1969 Bur 1852-1960
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None held
Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by StaffordshireFreeReg and can be searched for free.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474628.

Poor Law Unions

Wolverhampton Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Bilston/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage'], FreeREG, accessed 22 March 2014



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 19:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,869 times.