Bilton near Hull, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bilton near Hull, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bilton near Hull, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Skirlaugh PLU|
|Parish registers: 1692|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Wyton beginning 1603|
|Rural Deanery||South Holderness|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BILTON (St Peter), or Bilton-in-Holderness, a chapelry in the parish of Swine, union of Skirlaugh, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, East Riding,Yorkshire, 4½ miles (N. E.) from Hull.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bilton near Hull exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BILTON NEAR HULL CHAPELRY (1600) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 23:24.
- This page has been accessed 2,041 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More