Bilton near Wetherby, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Bilton near Wetherby, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Barwick Gilbert Union PLU|
|Parish registers: 1571|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Rural Deanery||City of York and Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Bilton|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Guide to Bilton near Wetherby, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
BILTON (St. Helen), a parish, in the district of Tadcaster, West Riding Yorkshire; The parish includes the townships of Bickerton and Tockwith; There are places of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bilton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BILTON PARISH (1571) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464295.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:27.
- This page has been accessed 1,860 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki