Bilton with Harrogate, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Bilton with Harrogate
Bilton with Harrogate, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Knaresborough PLU
Registration District Knaresborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1748
Bishop's Transcripts: 1817
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boroughbridge
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Guide to Bilton with Harrogate, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

BILTON-WITH-HARROGATE, a township and two chapelries in Knaresborough parish, West Riding Yorkshire. The two chapelries are Bilton (St John) and Harrogate. Bilton was constituted in 1828. There are other places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Barlby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BILTON WITH HARROGATE PARISH (1817) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1817-1893

1832-1837

1857-1893

NBI

1780-1803, 1813-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464250.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 416-421. Adapted. Date accessed: 03 January 2014.
  2. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 16 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 October 2014, at 01:03.
  • This page has been accessed 2,161 times.