Bingham, NottinghamshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bingham,Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Bingham St Mary & All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1598|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
BINGHAM (All Saints), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the N. division of the wapentake of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 10 miles (E.) from Nottingham; containing, with part of the township of Newton. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.
Bingham St Mary and All Saints is an Ancient Parish in Nottinghamshire and includes Newton within the parish. The church has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bingham, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|BINGHAM PARISH Online Records|
Bingham All Saints
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1598-1963 Marriages 1598-1959 Burials 1598-1958 Bishop's Transcripts 1608-1865
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bingham
Bingham St Mary and All Saints. An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church, dating from 1705, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, pages 35-40 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Bingham Council Cemetery. An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, dating from 1880, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, pages 24-35 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.
See Nottinghamshire Census
Transcribed by Peters, Doreen. Extracts from the Nottingham Quarter Sessions Minute Books 1802. A list of people who had Defective Weights and Measures, the Penalty and Costs, dated 26 April 1802. Surnames in Bingham: Skinner, Lomax, Huckerby, Brown, Baxter, Widnall, Stuff, Auckland, Parley, Clifton, Bates, Skillington, Smith. Article available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QSM 1/34, also at The Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 123, pages 46-51.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Bingham in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Bingham/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 12 January 2015, at 21:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,756 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More