Bingley, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Bingley
Bingley, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Skyrack
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Keighley PLU
Registration District Keighley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Knights of St John of Jerusalem in Manors of Crossley, Bingley, Cottingley and Pudsey
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Guide to Bingley, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BINGLEY (All Saints), a parish and market-town, in the union of Keighley, Upper division of the wapentake of Skyrack, West Riding,Yorkshire; The parish includes  the townships of East and West Morton, hamlets of Beckfoot, Cottingley, Cross-Flatts, CrossRoads, Cullingworth, Eldwick, Faweather, Gilstead, Hainworth, Harden, Priest-Thorpe, Riddlesden, and Ryshworth. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Bingley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BINGLEY PARISH (1577) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1576-1812 1576-1812 1576-1812 1576-1812 1576-1812 1576-1812
FS 1577-1847

1578-1900

1830-1860

HATH 1577-1686

1577-1686

1577-1686

JOIN None

1687-1837

None

List of Chapelry's in this Parish


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1577. 


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 244-248.]. Date accessed: 15 December 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,862 times.