Birch in Hopwood, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Birch in Hopwood, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birch in Hopwood, Lancashire
St Mary Birich in Hopwood contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Oldham PLU
Registration District Bury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1829
Bishop's Transcripts: 1829
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Birch in Hopwood (St Mary) was created a chapelry in 1828, taken from, and lying within the boundaries of Middleton ancient parish. It lies between Bury and Middleton parishes, Lancashire; near the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 2 miles WNW of Middleton. It was constituted in 1842; and its Post Town is Middleton, under Manchester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Birch in Hopwood chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Middleton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
BIRCH IN HOPWOOD ST MARY Chapelry (1829) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1829-1895 1839-1893 1830-1968
FS 1829-1839 None 1829-1839
LBMD None 1839-1974 None 
MIDDLETON ST LEONARD PARISH (1541) Indexes (ancient parish containing BIRCH IN HOPWOOD Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1541-1752

1541-1752; 1813-1818;  1828-1830

1609-1678; 1805-1819; 1827-1832; 1838-1847; 1865-1874

LOPC  1695-1874  1541-1836  1541-1874
LBMD  None  1837-1974 None 
FMP None 1541-1752 None
AC 1541-1752 1541-1752 1541-1752
FREG 1541-1630, 1653-1729 1541-1644, 1658-1729 1641-1729


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Birch in Hopwood and comprising the whole ancient parish of Middleton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MIDDLETON PARISH page.



Bishop's transcripts for Birch, near Middleton, 1829-1839 Micro-reproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Birch, also called Birch-St. Mary, which is in the township of Hopwood, parish of Middleton, Lancashire, England.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/233

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1829-1839.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545705 Item 3


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306910.


Poor Law Unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Birch in Hopwood a chapelry in Middleton on GENUKI

http://www.stmarybirch.org.uk/ fro information about the parish

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53022 Hopwood British History Online

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LAN/Hopwood/StMary.shtml for images of the church

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Published in 1870-72.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 5,036 times.