Birch in Rusholme, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Birch in Rusholme, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birch in Rusholme, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Chorlton PLU
Registration District Chorlton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BIRCH, or Birch-in-Rusholme, a hamlet and a chapelry within the boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire parish, Chorlton district, Lancashire. The hamlet stands 1¼ mile NW of Levenshulme railway station, and 2½ S by E of Manchester. The chapelry, created a district chapel in 1739, includes the hamlet; was constituted, conterminate with Rusholme township, in 1838; and was reconstituted, on a smaller scale, in 1854.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records 

Birch in Rusholme by 1880 had two district chapelries assigned to it--including St James, built by 1756 and Holy Trinity, built in 1849.

Online transcriptions exist for both chapelries which stood in this township and which also were two of over 150 such chapelries comprising the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys (the Cathedral). The data content include baptisms, marriages and burial registers. Displayed below are these chapelries (including the Cathedral) with available online data located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = findmypast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
BIRCH In RUSHOLME HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1849) Indexes; see also Rusholme
Baptisms Marriages Burials
LBMD 1849-1936 - see Birch St James 1849-1979 - see Birch St James None
BIRCH ST JAMES Chapelry (1752) Indexes (also called Birch-in-Rusholme);  see also Rusholme
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1838-1915 1837-1930 1839-1953
FS 1752-1875 1837-1877 None
LOPC 1838-1934 1837-1921 None
LBMD 1837-1936 1837-1979 None
BIRCH IN RUSHOLME ST AGNES Chapelry (1885) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1885-1914 1887-1930 1953-1979
RUSHOLME HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1846) - see also Birch St James[-in-Rusholme]   
  Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LBMD 1846-1936 - see BIRCH S JAMES 1846-1974 - see BIRCH ST JAMES None
RUSHOLME ST AGNES Chapelry (1884) Indexes -see St Chrysostom & Birch St James
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None
LOPC See St Chrysostom & Birch S Jas 1884-1920 - see Rusholme St Chrysostom None
RUSHOLME ST CHRYSOSTOM Chapelry (1876) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1876-1920 1878-1952 - part. None Extant
LOPC 1876-1920 1878-1920 None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

See also Newton (Heath) Chapelry as well.

To view a full list of Manchester's (150-plus) chapelries and district churches comprising the ancient parish of Manchester, and their respective online transcriptions, be sure to see the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

Original parish (chapelry) registers of baptisms, marriages and burials for Newton's chapelries are housed at the Manchester Central Studies Library, Manchester.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438736.


Poor Law Unions

Chorlton Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Birch in Rusholme in Manchester on GENUKI

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:54.
  • This page has been accessed 4,399 times.