Bircham Newton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Bircham Newton, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bircham Newton, Norfolk
All Saints, Bircham Newton, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1744
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bircham Newton All Saints is an Ancient parish in the county of Norfolk.

Bircham Newton is the smallest of the three villages that make up the civil parish of Bircham, in the west of the English county of Norfolk. The village is located about 1 km north of the larger village of Great Bircham, 20 km north-east of the town of King's Lynn, and 60 km north-west of the city of Norwich.

Bircham Newton gave its name to an airfield, RAF Bircham Newton, that was in use through World War II and into the 1960s.The site was first used during the First World War and received the largest British bomber of the time, the Handley Page V/1500. They would have carried out bombing missions against Berlin but the Armistice was arranged before any missions were actually flown.

The airfield was equipped with one aircraft repair shed and three double bay general service sheds, although these had been demolished by 1937. It had two Belfast hangars, three C Type hangars, three Bellman hangars, and ten Blister hangars.

It operated through the Second World War as part of No. 16 Group RAF as part of Coastal Command. No. 206 Squadron RAF was one of the squadrons being based there, on maritime patrol duties. Two satellite airfields, RAF Docking and RAF Langham were opened to accommodate units.

In 1965 the airfield was used for evaluation trials of the Hawker Siddeley Kestrel V/STOL aircraft.
BIRCHAM-NEWTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 7¼ miles (S. W. by S.) from BurnhamWestgate.[1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bircham Newton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[10]
BIRCHAM NEWTON PARISH (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1562-1837

FREG 1725-1975
1725-1932
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1744-1975 Undefined 1756-1808, 1813-1836, 1838-1932 Undefined 1744-1812, 1814-1980
IGI 1562-1736
JOIN
1562-1836

PALL
1790-1837

PRTS 1813-1975
1562-1932
1814-1967

Parish Records of Great Bircham with Bircham Newton and Bircham Tofts are deposited at Norfolk Record Office reference PD34.

Parish registers for Bircham Newton Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England. Some Latin.

Baptisms, burials, 1744-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1975. Marriages and marriage banns, 1756-1808. Marriages, 1813-1932. Burials, 1814-1980. FHL BRITISH Film 1951566 Items 12 - 17.

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812  Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1737, 1751-1804 FHL BRITISH Film 1526809 Item 12

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

1891 Stray from Bircham in Census Return: Transcribed by Geoff Lowe and housed by Norfolk Transcription Archives


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 248-255.  Date accessed 2 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 September 2014, at 21:22.
  • This page has been accessed 3,356 times.