Birchington, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Birchington, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birchington, Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringslow or Isle of Thanet
County Kent
Poor Law Union Thanet PLU
Registration District Thanet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; For more records see Monkton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1572
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BIRCHINGTON (All Saints), a parish, within the cinque-port liberty of Dovor (of which it is a member, though locally in the hundred of Ringslow, or Isle of Thanet), union of Thanet, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3½ miles (W. by S.) from Margate. [1]

From: 'Bintree - Birkenhead', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 248-255. URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50801 Date accessed: 26 September 2012. Birchington-on-Sea is a village and civil parish in the Thanet District of Kent.Within the  churchyard is the burial place of the 19th-century Pre-Raphaelite artist, Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Quex Park, a local 19th century manor house, is home to the Powell Cotton Museum and a twelve-bell tower built for change ringing.

Birchington All Saints which dates from the 13th century was originally formed as a chapelry within Monkton, Kent Ancient Parish; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The church of All Saints Canterbury Road Birchington has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building See also Kent Archeological Society and Kent Churches website

The Birchington Methodist Chapel Linington Road Birchington has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also Birchington-on-Sea Wikipedia

Edward Hasted refers to St Nicholas chapel Wood alias Woodchurch within this Ancient parish and the deanery of Westbere. See The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 226-237 at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Birchington, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
Birchington, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1880 1538-1880 1540-1909 1540-1909 1538-1887 1538-1887
IGI 1538-1675 1538-1553
KOPC 1801-1880
1754-1909
1801-1887

Census records

Census returns for Birchington 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Thanet Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 248-255. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  6. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,863 times.