Bircholt, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Bircholt, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bircholt, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bircholt Franchise and Barony
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford PLU
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

BIRCHOLT (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, franchise and barony of Bircholt, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 4 miles (E. by S.) from Ashford. [1]

The Ancient parish of St Margaret Bircholt had a mediaeval church but this was ruined in the 16th century. Edward Hasted in the 1799 History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent pp10-14 indicates the parish was very small and associated with the manor house. He also records that the church was not standing by 1578. The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 10-14 at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census returns for Bircholt 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

 

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 248-255. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,193 times.