Birkenhead Holy Trinity, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Birkenhead Holy Trinity, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birkenhead Holy Trinity, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840; Separate registers exist for Birkenhead St Anne beginning 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Birkenhead, Holy Trinity  Price Street. Founded 1840 as the parish church for part of Birkenhead; closed in 1974. No burials took place here.
Later Birkenhead St Anne,Cheshire  Beckwith Street was  Built in 1847 as a chapel to Holy Trinity, becoming a separate parish in 1861; closed in 1987.

BIRKENHEAD is a seaport town, a market town, and a township, and a parochial chapel over seven separate chapelries, created originally from the ancient parish of Bidstone (which also see), in the district of Wirral, Cheshire. BIRKENHEAD HOLY TRINITY was created from St Mary's Birkenhead in the year 1840.

Birkenhead town stands on the Mersey, opposite Liverpool, about a mile by water west of Liverpool, and 14 3/4 miles by railway north by northwest of Chester. The ancient extra parochial district or chapelry of Birkenhead with Holy Trinity comprises the following other associated chapelies of the town:

*All Saints - 1879
*St Mary - 1719
*Holy Trinity - 1840
*St Anne - 1850
*St James - 1865
*St John - 1859
*St Matthew - 1889
*St Paul - 1863
*St Peter - 1867
*Mariner's Chapel - (by) 1847

Part of the parochial boundary of Birkenhead Chapelry includes the former township of Claughton, in Bidstone ancient parish, and part of Oxton Township, in Woodchurch ancient parish (which also see). These two townships have been incorporated into the township and chapelry of Birkenhead.

There are upwards of thirty non-established places of worship (including Claughton and Oxton). There are two Roman Catholic churches.Holy Trinity Church is a chapelry in Birkenhead, created from St. Mary's Church in 1841. Birkenhead All Saints was built in 1879 as a chapel to Oxton (St Saviour). Genuki UK and Ireland Genealogy [1] [2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253.

Church records

Birkenhead Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
BIRKENHEAD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1840) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1840-1909
  NONE
1842-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search.

Parish registers for Holy Trinity Church, Birkenhead, 1840-1962 Cheshire Record Office reference: P 107/1/1-12, 2/1-10.

Parish Register: Holy Trinity Church, Birkenhead FHL Film
Baptisms, 22 Nov. 1840-120 Oct 1897. BRITISH 2104037 Items 3-10
Baptisms, 20 Oct 1897-14 Oct 1962.  Marriages, 26 Jan 1842-17 Aug 1862. BRITISH 2104038
Marriages, 29 Aug 1862-28 July 1934. BRITISH 2104039
Marriages, 4 Aug 1934-3 Feb 1962. BRITISH 2104040 Items 1-3

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Church of Scotland/Scottish Presbyterian
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Unitarian
  • Welsh Baptist
  • Welsh Independent
  • Welsh Presbyterian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Birkenhead Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Birkenhead Holy Trinity on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 5 February 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 5 February 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:38.
  • This page has been accessed 6,738 times.