Birkenhead St Anne, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Birkenhead St Anne, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Birkenhead St Anne, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1850
Bishop's Transcripts: 1876
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Birkenhead, St. Anne, Beckwith Street. Built in 1847 as a chapel to Holy Trinity, becoming a separate parish in 1861; closed in 1987. There are no burials for this church.

BIRKENHEAD, a seaport town, a market town, and a township, and seven chapelries, in the district of Wirral, Cheshire. The town stands on the Mersey, opposite Liverpool, about a mile by water W of Liverpool, and 14 3/4 miles by railway NNW of Chester. It comprises the ancient extra parochial district or chapelry of Birkenhead, the former township of Claughton, in Bidstone, and part of that of Oxton, in Woodchurch. They have been incorporated with the township of Birkenhead. The place was anciently called Bircheved, Birkete, Birket-wood, and Birkenhedde.

There are upward of thirty non-established places of worship (including Claughton and Oxton). There are two Roman Catholic churches. There is also a Mariners' church. St. Anne's Church is a chapelry created by 1850 from St. Mary's Church, Birkenhead. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253.

Church records

Birkenhead St Anne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups (click links):

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Birkenhead St Anne's Chapelry (1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1850-1909
  NONE
1865-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1888-1909   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Anne's, Birkenhead, 1850-1954 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 112/1/1-3, P112/3774/1/1-5, P 112/2, P 112/3774/2/1-3, P 112/3774/3/1-4

Parish Registers: St. Anne's, Birkenhead FHL Film
Baptisms, 1850-1950 BRITISH 2104040 Items 4 - 11
Marriages, 1862-1940. Banns, 1876-1938 BRITISH 2104041
Banns, 1938-1954 BRITISH 2104042 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for St. Anne's Church, Birkenhead, 1876-1915 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 26

Bishops Transcripts: St. Anne's Church, Birkenhead Film
Baptisms, 1876-1915.
1647364 Item 3
Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Wirral

Poor Law Unions

  • Wirral

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Birkenhead St Anne on GENUKI 

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 5 February 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:38.
  • This page has been accessed 3,404 times.