Birkenhead St James, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Birkenhead St James, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Birkenhead St James, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birkenhead St James, Cheshire
Birkenhead St James.JPG
Birkenhead St James
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1865
Bishop's Transcripts: 1898
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office


Parish History

Birkenhead, St. James , Laird Street/Hoylake Road. Built in 1858 as a chapel to St Mary, becoming a separate parish in 1876.

BIRKENHEAD, a seaport town, a market town, and a township, and seven chapelries, in the district of Wirral, Cheshire. The town stands on the Mersey, opposite Liverpool, about a mile by water W of Liverpool, and 14 3/4 miles by railway NNW of Chester. It comprises the ancient extra parochial district orchapelry of Birkenhead, the former township of Claughton, in Bidstone, and part of that of Oxton, in Woodchurch. They have been incorporated with the township of Birkenhead. The place was anciently called Bircheved, Birkete, Birket-wood, and Birkenhedde.

There are upward of thirty non-established places of worship (including Claughton and Oxton). There are two Roman Catholic churches. There is also a Mariners' church. St. James,  was constituted in 1841.[1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253.

Church records

Birkenhead St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Birkenhead St James Parish (1865) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1865-1909
FS BT'S 1898-1899   NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Registers of Baptisms 1865–1967 and Marriages 1869–1972 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office (no burials here) and they have been filmed by FamilySearch and are available for searching online.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. James' Church, Birkenhead, 1865-1951 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 75/1/1-8, P 75/2/1-5.

Parish Registers: St. James' Church, Birkenhead Film
Baptisms, 1865-1944.
2104343 Items 13 - 19
Baptisms, 1944-1951. Marriages, 1869-1951.

Bishop's transcripts for St. James' Church, Birkenhead, 1898-1899 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 27

Bishops Transcripts: St. James' Church, Birkenhead Film
Baptisms, 1898-1899.
1647365 Item 1
Another filming, 1990.
1656809 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Birkenhead Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Birkenhead St James on GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) adapted 5 February 2013


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 June 2015, at 00:36.
  • This page has been accessed 4,815 times.