Birkenhead St Mary, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Birkenhead St Mary, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birkenhead St Mary, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral PLU
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Birkenhead, St. Mary , Church Street. An ancient chapel to  Bidston, Cheshire, originally serving the whole of the township of Birkenhead; closed in 1974.

BIRKENHEAD, a seaport town, a market town, and a township, and seven chapelries, in the district of Wirral, Cheshire. The town stands on the Mersey, opposite Liverpool, about a mile by water W of Liverpool, and 14 3/4 miles by railway NNW of Chester. It comprises the ancient extra parochial district or chapelry of Birkenhead, the former township of Claughton, in Bidstone, and part of that of Oxton, in Woodchurch (all of which also see). They have been incorporated with the township of Birkenhead. The place was anciently called Bircheved, Birkete, Birket-wood, and Birkenhedde.

There are upward of thirty non-established places of worship (including Claughton and Oxton). There are two Roman Catholic churches. There is also a Mariners' church. The chapelry of St. Mary was formed out of Bidstone parish.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241253.

Church records

Birkenhead St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BIRKENHEAD ST MARY PARISH (1721) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1721-1909
  NONE
1815-1934
  NONE
1821-1839
  NONE
FS BT'S 1813-1839   NONE
1815-1837
  NONE
1821-1839
  NONE
PALL

1790-1812


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Registers of Baptisms 1721–1968, Marriages 1721–1974 and Burials 1719–1957 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. There is also a new online archive, including monumental inscriptions and transcripts of some early registers. http://stmarysbirkenhead.blogspot.com/

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Mary's, Birkenhead, 1719-1957,Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 70/1/1-2, 2/1-10, 3/123, 4/1-2, 5/1-11.

Parish Registers: St. Mary's, Birkenhead Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1719-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1884.
2104042 Items 2 - 9
Baptisms, 1884-1946. Marriages, 1815-1851.
2104175
Marriages, 1851-1866.
2104176
Marriages, 1866-1881.
2104177
Marriages, 1881-1896.
2104178
Marriages, 1896-1920
2104179
Marriages, 1920-1947. Marriage banns, 1829-1845; 1874-1895. Burials, 1813-1854 .
2104180
Burials, 1854-1957.
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2104218

Bishop's transcripts for St. Mary's Church, Birkenhead, 1813-1839 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 28

Bishops Transcripts: St. Mary's Church, Birkenhead Film
Baptisms, 1813-1830, burials, 1813-1814, 1816-1819, 1821-1830, marriages, 1815-1817, 1819-1820, 1822-1837, burials, 1837-1838, 1834-1837, 1839, 1838, 1831-1834, 1833, 1838, 1837-1838, baptisms, 1831-1839.
1647365 Item 2
Another filming, 1990.
1656809 Item 3

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Church of Scotland/Scottish Presbyterian
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Unitarian
  • Welsh Baptist
  • Welsh Independent
  • Welsh Presbyterian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Birkenhead Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Birkenhead St Mary on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) adapted 5 February 2013
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:41.
  • This page has been accessed 3,823 times.