Birkenshaw cum Hunsworth, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
BIRKENSHAW (St Paul), two hamlets, and a chapelry in the parish of Birstal, wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire; the hamlets are Birkenshaw and Birkenshaw-Bottom; The chapelry is known as Birkenshaw-cum-Hunsworth.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Barlby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|BIRKENSHAW CUM HUNSWORTH CHAPELRY (1848) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 15 December 2013.
- This page was last modified on 18 December 2013, at 17:01.
- This page has been accessed 623 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More